Sunday, March 8, 2020

THE INVISIBLE MAN MOVIE REVIEW

 The Invisible Man is directed by Leigh Whannell and stars Elisabeth Moss, Aldis Hodge, Storm Reid, Harriet Dyer, Michael Dorman, and Oliver Jackson-Cohen. The plot of the movie is when Cecilia's abusive ex takes his own life and leaves her his fortune, she suspects his death was a hoax. As a series of coincidences turn lethal, Cecilia works to prove that she is being hunted by someone nobody can see. I loved this movie. Elisabeth Moss is fantastic. She needs to carry this movie on her shoulders she not only needs to make us believe that she's being tortured by this invisible ex-boyfriend of hers, but she needs to make us believe that she's been in an abusive relationship before the movie even starts. She is able to pull that off from the first scene. From the first shot, you realize this is a woman who needs to get out of this situation and Moss sells every second of this movie. You feel the torture, you feel that anguish inside her, you feel how she is constantly paranoid and how she has PTSD from this relationship and how it is affecting her in the present.    Leigh Whannell did a wonderful job directing this movie. He really knows how to tell a gripping and compelling story What I really love that Whannell does here is he is not only creating so much tension throughout the course of the movie he has these really great slow deliberate camera movements that really build up the tension and suspense and really plays into the horror of it all, but he's able to tell this compelling story about abuse. The action sequences in this movie are really well done, really well staged, and beautifully shot. There's some great camera work that makes you feel more immersed in the action.    This is a really intense horror movie, it's really well directed, it's beautiful looking, and it has a fantastic lead performance by Elisabeth Moss.   5 out of 5 stars for The Invisible Man. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Friday, March 6, 2020

THE CALL OF THE WILD MOVIE REVIEW

 The Call of the Wild is directed by Chris Sanders and stars Harrison Ford, Omar Sy, Dan Stevens, Karen Gillan, and Bradley Whitford. The plot of the movie is a sled dog struggles for survival in the wilds of the Yukon. I had a major issue with this movie and that is the choice to make every animal in the film CGI including Buck. The original book had a lot of darkness in it and this film is absolutely aimed at younger kids and families. The choice to have the dog be a cartoon throughout the entire movie really took out the sense of danger. I understand that when you have a dog constantly in a movie and have it be in peril you obviously cannot harm or put a real animal in that situation. It's not that the CGI is bad it's just very distracting.    Harrison Ford saves this movie. He's not in the first act that much and so the first 30 minutes is pretty boring. As soon as he shows up and as soon as he and Buck go on their journey the film improves significantly. Ford is so good in this movie even interacting with a CGI dog. Even being distracted by the CGI I still found stuff to like about the film mainly because of the beautiful scenery, the music, and Harrison Ford.  3 out of 5 stars for The Call of the Wild. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Sunday, March 1, 2020

FANTASY ISLAND MOVIE REVIEW

 Fantasy Island is directed by Jeff Wadlow and stars Michael Pena, Maggie Q, Lucy Hale, Austin Stowell, Jimmy O. Yang, Portia Doubleday, Ryan Hansen, and Michael Rooker. The movie is a horror adaptation of the popular '70s TV show about a magical island resort. This is from the same writing and directing team and lead star of 2018's Truth or Dare and it is worse. Fantasy Island is an unintentionally hilarious excuse for a horror movie. You can see every scare coming it's people backing up slowly and the camera waiting for them to turn around, so they can pan to something that's behind them. It's the sound going out of the mix and you know a jump scare is about to happen and none of them are effective.    Every scene is like somebody explaining their entire lives to you. It's a constant series of twists and reveals and none of them are shocking. Every time one of them happens the person has to turn around and basically look at the audience and explain everything to us like we're fucking children. I'm not joking this movie is nothing but explaining. Every single choice that's made in the plot is just a long series of explanations as if we couldn't figure things out on our own.    Michael Pena plays the evil orchestrator of events on this island. He is really bad in this movie everyone's pretty bad in the movie. Maggie Q's storyline is so pointless. For most of the movie, her storyline is about regret, and she gets that opportunity again and spends a large portion of this movie just lounging around on a beach with a daughter she always wished she had. Lucy Hale's storyline is she wants revenge on a childhood bully. One of the other people wants to be a soldier, so he is off in a battle somewhere. The movie cuts back and forth between the different stories and the tone is so off and so jarring. I never felt like I was watching a horror film or a fantasy movie. The movie also has one of the most nonsensical plot twists I've ever seen. It makes you question everything you just watched even though the movie's obsessed with explaining all of its twists to you like it's afraid you won't understand. Even with all of that explaining baggage the twists still doesn't make any goddamn sense. The only mystery is how the fuck this movie got made.  0 out of 5 stars for Fantasy Island. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Saturday, February 29, 2020

SONIC THE HEDGEHOG MOVIE REVIEW

 Sonic the Hedgehog is directed by Jeff Fowler and stars James Marsden, Ben Schwartz, Tika Sumpter, and Jim Carrey. The plot of the movie is after discovering a small, blue, fast hedgehog, a small-town police officer must help it defeat an evil genius who wants to do experiments on it.  I did not grow up playing any of the Sonic games and knew very little about the character. Plus the trailers for this movie looked awful, so I was not looking forward to watching this movie.    This movie is a lot better than I thought. It's not going to end up being one of my favorites of the year, but I had fun watching it. I think this is actually a really fun adventure move. It will definitely please kids. I think fans of the game will be happy and if you are an adult who is dragged to this you won't be completely bored.  Based on the trailers the main thing I was not looking forward to in this movie was Jim Carrey. He is nowhere near as annoying as I thought he was going to be. Every time he tried to be funny I did roll my eyes because it was lame, but he is very entertaining other than that.  Ben Schwartz voices Sonic, and he is perfect for this character. He's got that fun playful nature to him. He has a lot of funny lines and I loved his relationship with James Marsden's character. I bought their friendship, and they made for a fun pair. A lot of the action sequences in the movie are a lot of fun. They are well filmed and the special effects are great.    This movie does have some pretty big flaws for the first 30 minutes of this movie I was completely bored. Every time Jim Carrey tried to be funny it was embarrassing. Also, the movie is very predictable. It's very easy to tell where it is going to go and why it needs to go there.  3 out of 5 stars for Sonic the Hedgehog. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Sunday, January 26, 2020

THE TURNING MOVIE REVIEW

 The Turning is directed by Floria Sigismondi and stars Mackenzie Davis, Finn Wolfhard, Brooklynn Prince, and Joely Richardson. The plot of the movie is a young governess is hired by a man who has become responsible for his young nephew and niece after their parents' deaths. This is a nothing movie. Nothing happens, it has no meaning, it barely has an ending, and it leaves you wondering why the hell you just wasted your time. The movie is about 70 minutes of pure setup she's trapped in this house, the kids are getting on her nerves, she's having horrific visions, and then something occurs and you think the movie is ending. Then the film does a trick of sorts and the final 10 minutes are unforgivable I have not been this pissed off about how a film ends in my life.    Mackenzie Davis is extremely over-the-top. Finn Wolfhard is unfortunately really bad and I am a fan of his. Brooklynn Prince is not that bad. By the end of the movie, I was so betrayed by the complete lack of respect for the audience.  0 out of 5 stars for The Turning. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Sunday, January 19, 2020

DOLITTLE MOVIE REVIEW

 Dolittle is directed by Stephen Gaghan and stars Robert Downey Jr., Antonio Banderas, Michael Sheen, Emma Thompson, Rami Malek, John Cena, Kumail Nanjiani, Octavia Spencer, Tom Holland, Craig Robinson, Ralph Fiennes, Selena Gomez, and Marion Cotillard. The plot of the movie is a physician discovers that he can talk to animals. Dolittle is a terrible movie in just about every single way it fails as a comedy, it fails as an adventure, and it fails as an action movie. The CGI is extremely unconvincing. Robert Downey Jr. is one of the most charming and likable actors on the planet, but he is really bad in this movie his accent is very distracting and it made it hard for me to take the character seriously.    All you get with this movie is a series of incoherent scenes that are so messy it is difficult to follow. Characters just go from one location to another along the way he encounters a tiger that needs therapy and for some stupid reason, the writers felt the need to put a scene in where Robert Downey Jr. pulls a bagpipe out of a dragon's ass I wish I was kidding.  The main problem with this movie is the reason he goes on this adventure is to save this queen who is ill. We know nothing about her and their friendship is not touched on at all. So why is he risking his life and these animal's lives for this relationship we know nothing about? Since that friendship is never explored I don't care what happens to these characters which makes the whole movie fucking boring.  0 out of 5 stars for Dolittle. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Saturday, January 11, 2020

LIKE A BOSS MOVIE REVIEW

 Like a Boss is directed by Miguel Arteta and stars Tiffany Haddish, Rose Byrne, Jennifer Coolidge, Natasha Rothwell, Billy Porter, and Salma Hayek. The plot of the movie is two friends with very different ideals start a beauty company together. One is more practical while the other wants to earn her fortune and live a lavish lifestyle. I'll watch any movie it doesn't matter who it is aimed at.  This movie is fucking terrible it is so exaggerated every scene is so absurd and to this heightened level of insanity that it was hard to take it seriously. Thankfully the movie is not that long.    One of the biggest problems with this movie is how cartoonish its villains are. Salma Hayek is obviously having a lot of fun in this role, but she is way too over-the-top. Tiffany Haddish and Rose Byrne are both super talented, and they both work well together here and it feels like they are friends. The problem is the movie doesn't give a shit about character or story and it just wants to make you laugh with these really unfunny scenes that are just embarrassing.  1 out of 5 stars for Like a Boss. I hope you enjoyed my review.

Friday, January 10, 2020

UNDERWATER MOVIE REVIEW

 Underwater is directed by William Eubank and stars Kristen Stewart, Vincent Cassel, Jessica Henwick, John Gallagher Jr., Mamoudou Athie, and T. J. Miller. The plot of the movie is a crew of aquatic researchers work to get to safety after an earthquake devastates their subterranean laboratory. But the crew has more than the ocean seabed to fear. Normally Horror/Thriller movies that come out in January end up being garbage. Then I saw the trailer and became a lot more interested in this movie. Any time an isolated crew of some kind of vessel encounters some sort of entity I will see it.    I really enjoyed this movie. Kristen Stewart is great in this she has to be in a heightened state of panic for most of this movie, and she pulls it off. Jessica Henwick is also very good in the movie. Her character Emily and Kristen Stewart's character Norah are the only two characters that I liked.    Pretty much right from the beginning the movie begins with this fast-paced sequence of events as this station begins to implode. You don't know what is causing it or why it is happening, but all of the characters are scrambling to get to safety it is extremely suspenseful. This movie does a great job of creating tension. I was on the edge of my seat most of the time.  This is very much a plot-driven movie, not character-driven. Even in most movies that are plot-based they still try to flesh out the characters, and they don't that much here.  Characters will have some downtime to talk and even then I only was invested in the two characters I mentioned before Norah and Emily. Everyone else in this movie is not bad, but they didn't do anything that will make me remember them. Another problem I had with this movie was T. J. Miller he makes a lot of jokes and every time it halted how intense the moment was and tried to create levity in that moment which was not needed. This is a lot better then I was expecting. I was pleasantly surprised.  4 out of 5 stars for Underwater. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Sunday, January 5, 2020

THE GRUDGE MOVIE REVIEW

 The Grudge is directed by Nicolas Pesce and stars Andrea Riseborough, Demian Bichir, John Cho, Betty Gilpin, Lin Shaye, and Jacki Weaver. The plot of the movie is a house is cursed by a vengeful ghost that dooms those who enter it with a violent death. This film is trying so hard to be dramatic. It is telling a story over many different time periods connecting events to one location where various families are involved. This is nothing new, but the big problem is the film thinks the events that are being uncovered are these incredible sequences, but it is not. A kid will have a nose bleed and you don't know why the kid has it and then later you find out, and I was sitting in my seat thinking why do I care about this.    This movie is horrendously boring there is nothing worse than a boring horror movie. You have a very simple job you're just supposed to scare the audience fairly often and tell a compelling story. This movie didn't do either of those things. This film thinks its characters are a lot more interesting than they are, it thinks its direction is a lot more clever than it actually is, and it sure thinks its a lot scarier then it is too. The film is filled with cheap jump scares from beginning to end and I saw every one of them coming. In fact, I was able to predict everything that was going to happen. 0 out of 5 stars for The Grudge. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Wednesday, January 1, 2020

2019 MOVIES WORST TO BEST

 It's time for me to rank all the movies I saw in 2019 from worst to best. I saw 45 movies this year. I had fun reviewing movies for you guys in 2019 and look forward to 2020. If you enjoyed my movie reviews this past year please hit the follow button.



45. THE LION KING



 MY REVIEW: THE LION KING MOVIE REVIEW























44. TERMINATOR: DARK FATE



 MY REVIEW: TERMINATOR: DARK FATE MOVIE REVIEW























43. AD ASTRA



 MY REVIEW: AD ASTRA MOVIE REVIEW























42. DOCTOR SLEEP



 MY REVIEW: DOCTOR SLEEP MOVIE REVIEW























41. ONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD



 MY REVIEW: ONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD MOVIE REVIEW























40. GOOD BOYS



 MY REVIEW: GOOD BOYS MOVIE REVIEW























39. THE LEGO MOVIE 2: THE SECOND PART



 MY REVIEW: THE LEGO MOVIE 2: THE SECOND PART MOVIE REVIEW























38. WONDER PARK



 MY REVIEW: WONDER PARK MOVIE REVIEW























37. GLASS



 MY REVIEW: GLASS MOVIE REVIEW























36. CHARLIE'S ANGELS



 MY REVIEW: CHARLIE'S ANGELS MOVIE REVIEW























35. MALEFICENT: MISTRESS OF EVIL



 MY REVIEW: MALEFICENT: MISTRESS OF EVIL MOVIE REVIEW























34. DUMBO



 MY REVIEW: DUMBO MOVIE REVIEW























33. HAPPY DEATH DAY 2U



 MY REVIEW: HAPPY DEATH DAY 2U MOVIE REVIEW























32. READY OR NOT



 MY REVIEW: READY OR NOT MOVIE REVIEW























31. PET SEMATARY



 MY REVIEW: PET SEMATARY MOVIE REVIEW























30. THE SECRET LIFE OF PETS 2



 MY REVIEW: THE SECRET LIFE OF PETS 2 MOVIE REVIEW























29. GEMINI MAN



 MY REVIEW: GEMINI MAN MOVIE REVIEW























28. LAST CHRISTMAS



 MY REVIEW: LAST CHRISTMAS MOVIE REVIEW























27. FORD V FERRARI



 MY REVIEW: FORD V FERRARI MOVIE REVIEW























26. ZOMBIELAND: DOUBLE TAP



 MY REVIEW: ZOMBIELAND: DOUBLE TAP MOVIE REVIEW























25. SCARY STORIES TO TELL IN THE DARK



 MY REVIEW: SCARY STORIES TO TELL IN THE DARK MOVIE REVIEW























24. GODZILLA: KING OF THE MONSTERS



 MY REVIEW: GODZILLA: KING OF THE MONSTERS MOVIE REVIEW























23. MEN IN BLACK: INTERNATIONAL



 MY REVIEW: MEN IN BLACK: INTERNATIONAL MOVIE REVIEW























22. COLD PURSUIT



 MY REVIEW: COLD PURSUIT MOVIE REVIEW























21. KNIVES OUT



 MY REVIEW: KNIVES OUT MOVIE REVIEW























20. CAPTAIN MARVEL



 MY REVIEW: CAPTAIN MARVEL MOVIE REVIEW























19. ALADDIN



 MY REVIEW: ALADDIN MOVIE REVIEW























18. TOY STORY 4



 MY REVIEW: TOY STORY 4 MOVIE REVIEW























17. ROCKETMAN



 MY REVIEW: ROCKETMAN MOVIE REVIEW























16. ABOMINABLE



 MY REVIEW: ABOMINABLE MOVIE REVIEW























15. JUDY



 MY REVIEW: JUDY MOVIE REVIEW























14. CRAWL



 MY REVIEW: CRAWL MOVIE REVIEW























13. CHILD'S PLAY



 MY REVIEW: CHILD'S PLAY MOVIE REVIEW























12. DON'T LET GO



 MY REVIEW: DON'T LET GO MOVIE REVIEW























11. JOKER



 MY REVIEW: JOKER MOVIE REVIEW























10. THE ADDAMS FAMILY



 MY REVIEW: THE ADDAMS FAMILY MOVIE REVIEW























9. FAST AND FURIOUS PRESENTS: HOBBS AND SHAW



 MY REVIEW: FAST AND FURIOUS PRESENTS: HOBBS AND SHAW MOVIE REVIEW























8. HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON: THE HIDDEN WORLD



 MY REVIEW: HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON: THE HIDDEN WORLD MOVIE REVIEW























7. YESTERDAY



 MY REVIEW: YESTERDAY MOVIE REVIEW























6. FROZEN 2



 MY REVIEW: FROZEN 2 MOVIE REVIEW























5. FIVE FEET APART



 MY REVIEW: FIVE FEET APART MOVIE REVIEW























4. IT CHAPTER 2



 MY REVIEW: IT CHAPTER 2 MOVIE REVIEW























3. AVENGERS: ENDGAME



 MY REVIEW: AVENGERS: ENDGAME MOVIE REVIEW























2. SPIDER-MAN: FAR FROM HOME



 MY REVIEW: SPIDER-MAN: FAR FROM HOME MOVIE REVIEW























1. STAR WARS EPISODE IX: THE RISE OF SKYWALKER



 MY REVIEW: STAR WARS EPISODE IX: THE RISE OF SKYWALKER MOVIE REVIEW