Friday, December 20, 2019

STAR WARS EPISODE IX: THE RISE OF SKYWALKER MOVIE REVIEW

 Star Wars Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker is directed by J. J. Abrams and stars Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Issac, Anthony Daniels, Naomi Ackie, Domhall Gleeson, Richard E. Grant, Lupita Nyong'o, Keri Russell, Joonas Suotamo, Kelly Marie Tran, Ian McDiarmid, and Billy Dee Williams. The plot of the movie is the surviving Resistance faces the First Order once more in the final chapter of the Skywalker Saga.    I loved this movie. I think this is a great and super satisfying way to conclude not only this new trilogy but the Skywalker Saga as a whole. J. J. Abrams nails it I really thought he brought it home in a great fashion. I don't think this is a movie that combats The Last Jedi like a lot of people say it is. I guess for you it is going to depend on how you read certain moments. I thought the choices here were a natural continuation of that story. I don't think this is a trilogy that is fighting itself. The cast once again is fantastic I really do like the character dynamics in this movie. We get a lot more of Finn and Poe and get to see more of their adventures. I like the fact that the team is more cohesive now that they are going on this journey together, and they are not separated like they were in The Last Jedi. It is great to see them all together, and they all have this amazing dynamic like a family at this point.    The continuation of Rey and Kylo Ren is fantastic the way they interweave and cross paths, especially in this one, is very well done. I like the fact that there is a continuation of the force bond that is between them where they are able to talk to each other and be with each other in spirit I loved those scenes. Daisy Ridley and Adam Driver are especially good here for me they are the standouts. I thought they had a lot of the emotional weight to carry, and they pulled it off. There scenes together in this one are easily some of my favorites not only in this movie but the whole trilogy. The thing I was most worried about going into this movie was the return of Emperor Palpatine, but I ended up being very happy with it. The scenes with him were so much fun to watch they were intense and very creepy. Ian McDiarmid is always fun to watch as that character and you can tell he is having a great time being back.    J. J. Abrams had the difficult task of not only concluding this new trilogy story but the Skywalker Saga as a whole. I really felt that he was able to conclude both stories in a way that for me felt really satisfying. I was reminded how attached I am to not only the old characters but the new characters as well. This is a movie that has great humor, it has great hart, it's got great moments from some of our favorite characters, and it has a few surprises that work very well. 5 out of 5 stars for Star Wars Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Tuesday, December 3, 2019

KNIVES OUT MOVIE REVIEW

 Knives out is directed by Rian Johnson and stars Daniel Craig, Chris Evans, Ana De Armas, Jamie Lee Curtis, Michael Shannon, Don Johnson, Toni Collette, Lakeith Stanfield, Katherine Langford, Jaeden Martell, and Christopher Plummer. The plot of the movie is a detective investigates the death of a patriarch of an eccentric, combative family. I love murder mysteries, so I was very excited to see this movie. I was very disappointed by this movie.   The performances are great everyone knows what kind of movie they are making also the cinematography is really beautiful.  Most of the movie is spent with Marta played by Ana de Armas and at first, that was disappointing I wanted to get to know the other characters more, but whenever the other characters are on screen they are extremely annoying. Easily the most annoying character in this movie is Benoit Blanc the detective played by Daniel Craig his southern drawl accent is so over-the-top that I was having a hard time not laughing every time the character was on screen    The biggest problem with the movie is it is just not fun I was able to predict where this movie was going to go very early on, the humor in the movie does not work at all, and the movie is way too long. 2 out of 5 stars for Knives Out. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Tuesday, November 26, 2019

FROZEN 2 MOVIE REVIEW

 Frozen 2 is directed by Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee and stars Idina Menzel, Kristen Bell, Jonathan Groff, and Josh Gad. The plot of the movie is Anna, Elsa, Kristoff, Olaf, and Sven leave Arendelle to travel to an ancient, autumn-bound forest of an enchanted land. They set out to find the origin of Elsa's powers in order to save their kingdom. I loved the first movie so, I went into this with high expectations and it did not disappoint I loved this movie. It is a more adult animated film from Disney it's darker and more mature and that is what I loved about it. There is still stuff that kids will enjoy, but I think adults will have a better time with this one. Of course, if you are a hardcore Disney fan you are going to really enjoy this movie. The music is fantastic, the performances are outstanding, there is some really great humor, and beautiful animation. I don't think any fan of the original is going to be disappointed.    The voice cast is amazing and everyone is great just like in the first film. Josh Gad as Olaf as always is hilarious there is one little monologue that he has which basically recaps the first movie that is one of the funniest things I've seen in a movie this year. Kristen Bell as Anna and Idina Menzel as Elsa have a much more easy-going chemistry in this one since now they are close sisters again and I love their dynamic in this movie. You could really feel the emotion between them and I thought they were perfect in the film and I thought they made their sister relationship feel a lot more lived-in and believable this time around especially since they have grown closer. Jonathan Groff is back as Kristoff, and he is clearly having a good time. He gets a really great song in the middle of the movie.    This movie has a lot of jokes that probably a lot of kids won't get that I thought were really clever, really smart, and genuinely hilarious. Olaf gets some amazing jokes and some of them come so rapid-fire you have to try to stop laughing to keep up with them.    This is a visually gorgeous movie there are some sequences were when you see them you will understand why it took them six years to make this sequel. It's a movie that is as colorful as the characters that inhabit it. This is really Elsa's movie because it is her personal journey to figure out what happened in the past those secrets of the past and it definitely has to do in large part with her relationship with her mother. I liked that that was the emotional through-line of this movie in addition to her relationship with Anna who genuinely loves her and wants to protect her and doesn't want to lose her again. Their relationship is really warm it's really sweet and you can really tell that these two sisters genuinely love each other, that they don't want to be separated, and if they do need to separate it is for the right reason. Those two emotional through lines carry this movie and I think they carry it extremely well.  5 out of 5 stars for Frozen 2. I hope you enjoyed my review.


FROZEN MOVIE REVIEW

 Frozen is directed by Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee and stars Kristen Bell, Idina Menzel, Jonathan Groff, Josh Gad, and Santino Fontana. The plot of the movie is after the kingdom of Arendelle is cast into eternal winter by the newly-crowned Queen Elsa, her sprightly sister Anna teams up with a rough mountaineer named Kristoff, his trusty reindeer Sven, and a snowman named Olaf to break the icy spell. I really enjoyed this movie.    The story is very compelling, and I am very glad that they kept the focus on the most dynamic relationship in this movie and that is between the two sisters Anna and Elsa. Sure they don't have a lot of scenes together and most of them are relatively short, but you understand that the main drive of this movie is the relationship between the two sisters. The musical numbers they were all really well done the songs are very catchy and upbeat. I liked that this wasn't your typical cliched Disney princess movie. Your princess is more proactive even the way that it ends is not the typical way that you would see a Disney princess movie end.    I loved all of the characters in this movie especially our two leads Anna and Elsa. Anna's a really fun-loving and energetic girl I loved her from the start. Elsa the most interesting and the most layered character in this film. You really understand the inner turmoil that she is going through with trying to be close to her sister but at the same time keeping her distance so as to not hurt her and you really just sympathize with her dilemma of trying to hide the fact that she has these powers. 5 out of 5 stars for Frozen. I hope you enjoyed my review.

Monday, November 25, 2019

FORD V FERRARI MOVIE REVIEW

 Ford V Ferrari is directed by James Mangold and stars Matt Damon and Christian Bale. The plot of the movie is America car designer Carroll Shelby and driver Ken Miles battle corporate interference, the laws of physics and their own personal demons to build a revolutionary race car for Ford and challenge Ferrari at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1966. I had heard so many great things about this movie, but I ended up disappointed. Matt Damon and Christian Bale are both fantastic actors, and they are great in this movie, but the characters they play I found to be boring. The biggest problem with this movie is the pacing at 2hours and 30 minutes this movie is way too long and you definitely feel it.  The race at the 24 Hours of Le Mans is exciting, but you have to sit through a lot of very boring story before that.  2 out of 5 stars for Ford V Ferrari. I hope you enjoyed my review.


CHARLIE'S ANGELS MOVIE REVIEW

 Charlie's Angels is directed by Elizabeth Banks and stars Kristen Stewart, Naomi Scott, Ella Balinska, Elizabeth Banks, Djimon Hounsou, Sam Claflin, Noah Centineo, and Patrick Stewart. The plot of the movie is when a young systems engineer blows the whistle on a dangerous technology, Charlie's Angels are called into action, putting their lives on the line to protect us all. This is a very forgettable and boring movie. This is Kristen Stewart's worst performance yet. She acts like a moron for most of the movie and every time she tries to be funny it is embarrassing. Ella Balinska was very forgettable I don't remember a thing about her character. Naomi Scott looked like she didn't even want to be in this movie.    Elizabeth Banks has no idea how to film an action scene. The fight sequences and the choreography has the tendance to be stitched together with cutaways and inserts. For example, if one of the Angels jumps onto a guy's back and puts him in a headlock, but while doing that she pushes herself off a wall with her boot and then leaps onto the guy. You get the insert of the boot jumping off the wall, you get the insert of the hand going around the neck, and then you get the wide of the actress on top of the guy.This way of filming the action scenes makes them super boring.  Patrick Stewart is the only actor in this entire movie that is trying and his character by far is the best part of this movie.  1 out of 5 stars for Charlie's Angels. I hope you enjoyed my review.

Sunday, November 24, 2019

LAST CHRISTMAS MOVIE REVIEW

 Last Christmas is directed by Paul Feig and stars Emilia Clark, Henry Golding, Michelle Yeoh, and Emma Thompson. The plot of the movie is Kate is a young woman subscribed to bad decisions. Her last date with disaster? That of having accepted to work as Santa's elf for a department store. However, she meets Tom there. Her life takes a new turn. For Kate, it seems too good to be true. There is not a lot to like about this movie.    Emilia Clark and Henry Golding are really great in this movie they have great chemistry with each other and you can tell that they are having a lot of fun. Emilia Clark is the stand out of the film. You get to learn a lot about her backstory and why she is this curmudgeon, especially around  Christmas time. Seeing that relationship develop between her and Golding's character even though you don't know where it is going to go and there's a lot of mystery surrounding his character. You enjoy watching them together and those scenes are easily the best part of this movie.  I did not care at all about the stuff with Kate and Santa played by Michelle Yeoh. Those scenes really dragged the movie down. There is a romance that forms between Michell Yeoh and another character and it is so painfully embarrassing to sit thought.    There is a subplot that has to do with Emma Thompson's family background and coming from Yugoslavia and not fitting in in London. It felt like that should have been in an entirely different movie.  1 out of 5 stars for Last Christmas. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Saturday, November 23, 2019

DOCTOR SLEEP MOVIE REVIEW

 Doctor Sleep is directed by Mike Flanagan and stars Ewan McGregor, Rebecca Ferguson, Kyliegh Curran, and Cliff Curtis. The plot of the movie is years following the events of "The Shining" a now-adult Dan Torrance must protect a young girl with similar powers from a cult known as The True Knot, who prey on children with powers to remain immortal. This is one of the most boring movies of the year. I think Ewan McGregor is a fantastic actor, and he is trying his best, but he could not save this film. All of the characters in the movie are extremely dull. This movie clocks in at 2 and a half hours and you feel every minute of it the pacing is horrible. Also, the movie is not scary at all.  0 out of 5 stars for Doctor Sleep. I hope you enjoyed my review.


THE SHINING MOVIE REVIEW

 The Shining is directed by Stanley Kubrick and stars Jack Nicholson, Shelley Duvall, Scatman Crothers, and Danny Lloyd. The plot of the movie is a family heads to an isolated hotel for the winter where a sinister presence influences the father into violence, while his psychic son sees horrific forebodings from both past and future. This movie is awful the whole film was a failed experiment thinking that random creepy irrelevant images coupled with an incoherent story progression devoid of any character arcs would be successful.    Good story progression would show Jack Torrance starting out as a well-adjusted, happy family man that gradually descends into complete psychosis and homicidal mania. Instead, Kubrick shows him as already a man dissatisfied with his life, marriage, son, and career. Then, Kubrick just flashes a title card on the screen saying "One month later" and Jack is already deteriorated towards the verge of madness. That is horrible storytelling and proves that Kubrick has no clue how to execute a character arc. No cause is given to why he becomes a homicidal maniac. There's also no correlation between all the surreal, nightmarish imagery.    I don't mind methodically paced films as long as there's a purpose to it all. Any talented editor could make this a much more effective film by chopping a good 35 minutes out of it. Horror films require momentum to equal good pacing, and good pacing is necessary for solid tension. Still, even if there was tension and good pacing which there is not the fact is, there are no endearing characters in this film for me to build any sympathy for. I don't care what happens to them because they are one dimensional, emotionless, weak-willed people.  0 out of 5 stars for The Shining. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Friday, November 1, 2019

TERMINATOR: DARK FATE MOVIE REVIEW

 Terminator: Dark Fate is directed by Tim Miller and stars Linda Hamilton, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Mackenzie Davis, Natalia Reyes, Gabriel Luna, and Diego Boneta. The plot of the movie is Sarah Conner and a hybrid cyborg human must protect a young girl from a newly modified liquid Terminator from the future. I love the first two Terminator films they are two of the best action movies of all time, but every subsequent sequel has gotten worse and worse to the point where when a new Terminator movie comes out it's hard for me to care. When they announced that Terminator: Dark Fate was going to serve as the direct sequel to Terminator 2: Judgement Day and ignore the other movies I got very excited.    Terminator: Dark Fate is a dull disrespectful lackluster creatively bankrupt and visually unimpressive attempt to milk the classic movies for cheap nostalgia bucks while also shitting all over them. The biggest problem with the movie is the opening scene it's basically a huge fuck you to Terminator 2. Linda Hamilton is back in this movie as Sarah Conner, and she looks like she didn't even want to be involved. Her character is completely ruined by being in this trash.   Gabriel Luna plays The Rev-9 the new evil Terminator, and he is the most boring generic unthreatening antagonist in any of these movies, and he just serves to be a punching bag for the heroes. Arnold is back as the T-800 and of course, he looks just as bored as Linda Hamilton.    Natalie Reyes plays Dani Ramos the generic teenage girl that needs to be protected who looks just as boring as she did in the trailers. Remember John Connor remember how interesting it was to see the future savior of the human race portrayed as an asshole delinquent. Edward Furlong made him cool, likable, and funny while also giving him a strong element of humanity and morality that ultimately brings his mother back from the brink of becoming a murderous psychopath. Those were the good days now look at what we have an absolute block of wood. The pacing in this movie is awful the amount of time between action sequences seems so vast. They do try to fill the time between action scenes with character development, but the problem is these characters are so dull and pathetic it just makes the movie seem like it will never end.    This movie doesn't do anything remotely creative or different. Ultimately Terminator: Dark Fate is a retread of the same story we've always had replicating the same ideas and dealing with the same themes that The Terminator series has already covered far more competently and effectively. It is very obvious that they intend is to start a new trilogy that will certainly never happen.  0 out of 5 stars for Terminator: Dark Fate. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Wednesday, October 30, 2019

TERMINATOR 2: JUDGMENT DAY MOVIE REVIEW

 Terminator 2: Judgment Day is directed by James Cameron and stars Arnold Schwarzenegger, Linda Hamilton, Edward Furlong, and Robert Patrick. The plot of the movie is a cyborg identical to the one who failed to kill Sarah Connor, must now protect her teenage son, John Connor, from a more advanced and powerful cyborg. This is the greatest sequel ever made. This film was released in 1991 and it still holds up today it doesn't feel dated whatsoever.    This film does not entirely rely on CGI most of the effects and the stunts are practical which is extremely impressive even to this day. When watching this movie again for this review the first scene that really stood out to me was when they show in 2029 the humans destroying a Skynet ship and it just looks so great because they are using miniatures it's not just CGI. It makes the action feel so much more real and intense just go through all the action scenes in the movie the car chase through the man-made rivers of Los Angeles, the raid on the mental institute, the fight at Cyberdyne Systems, the helicopter chase, and the final showdown at the factory all these action scenes are just so great they feel so real because a lot of the stunts are real. This film blends CGI and practical effects so well that is why the action scenes don't feel dated.        This film pushes the limits of its characters and pushes the story in a new direction. Sarah Connor is back in this movie and in this movie, she is a hard-nosed badass and society has deemed her crazy because she's the only one who knows about the impending doom of Judgment Day and because the people don't know how to handle that she is locked up in a mental institute. Since she knows that this impending danger is coming she is constantly haunted by dreams of death and destruction and seeing it on screen you realize why Sarah Connor is going as crazy as she is, and she is willing to do whatever it takes to stop it but in the process of doing that she loses her humanity and becomes more robotic like and more like a Terminator. The perfect example of that is the scene when Sarah Connor and John Connor are reunited again and John Connor all he wants is a hug he wants that human compassion which he has not had in so long and yes they hug, but John wants a hug out of love and compassion, but Sarah Connor, she's not really hugging him she's checking for wounds.    The person who does teach her again about humanity and the value of human life is her son John Connor. This was Edward Furlong's first movie and this is one of the best child performances I have ever seen. Edward Furlong Knocks it out of the park because he also brings that weight to the character as well. Think about it John Connor was raised by Sarah Connor being constantly told that he is going to be the leader of the human resistance. Constantly being told that when your growing up and then your mom gets taken away because she decides to shoot up a computer factory and then your told sorry kid your mom is a psycho and told everything you were told was a lie that is why he is more rebellious and that's why he doesn't really care about his foster parents. When he meets The Terminator again it all comes back and he realizes that he is going to lead the human resistance. That is a lot of emotional weight to put on a kid and Edward Furlong sells it you totally understand what he is going through.    Just like Sarah Connor in the first movie throughout Terminator 2, you start to see John Connor progress into having the qualities that are necessary for him to become a leader. He teaches characters who have lost their way about humanity and the value of human life and to be strong. You can really see that in his relationship with his mother Sarah Connor and the relationship he has with The T-800 The Terminator played once again by Arnold Schwarzenegger.     While we have deep characters, an intriguing story, and obviously the great action set-pieces to go along with it that makes a very good movie, but in my mind a movie that becomes great they bring in themes that go outside of the movie meaning it brings in extra themes that make you think about humanity and life the movie takes a step out into the real world and really makes you think that is what makes a great movie and the first two Terminator movies have that. In this movie you have Arnold Schwarzenegger playing a good Terminator and its prime directive is to protect John Connor and again that just boils it down to good versus evil these two things The T-1000 and The T-800 their sole directives one is to destroy and one is to protect. On top of that, you learn that The T-800 is able to learn and John Connor teaches a machine the value of human life. Throughout the movie, there are these wonderful moments where The Terminator asks John Connor why is he crying because human emotion does not compute in The Terminator's circuits, but throughout the movie, The Terminator starts to learn about human emotions and why they're so important. So not only is his prime directive to save John Connor but because The Terminator is learning about humanity he is really trying to save not just one man, but the entire human race which is extremely powerful which makes the action scenes so much better because we are emotionally invested in them as well on top of the fact that they just look so great, and they are so action-packed.    The T-1000 is very scary he is liquid metal, shots don't affect him, he can change his voice, and he can morph into almost anything so you have no idea where this thing is and it will not stop until John Connor is dead.5 out of 5 stars for Terminator 2: Judgment Day. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Tuesday, October 29, 2019

THE TERMINATOR MOVIE REVIEW

 The Terminator is directed by James Cameron and stars Arnold Schwarzenegger, Michael Biehn, Linda Hamilton, and Paul Winfield. The plot of the movie is a seemingly indestructible robot is sent from 2029 to 1984 to assassinate a young waitress, whose unborn son will lead humanity in a war against sentient machines, while a human soldier from the same war is sent to protect her at all costs.    One thing this movie does really well is that it hooks you right away. Not a lot of films can really suck you in within the first two minutes, but as soon as you see the opening text and then you hear The Terminator theme it will get you pumped up, but it also has this element of doom and danger lurking around the corner. The Terminator is such a great antagonist if you really hate or fear the villain or if the villain is such a challenge to the hero that you honestly don't know how the hero is going to defeat them that to me is one of the best things you can do in a movie. Arnold Schwarzenegger plays this character perfectly. This is just a very physical performance The Terminator doesn't speak that much and that is just so intimidating. This thing has been sent back in time to do one thing kill it has no remorse it has no sympathy it has been programmed to kill. When he does speak his Austrian accent fits The Terminator it's just so robotic like and menacing. The performance, the voice, the look, everything is so intimidating. So I would say that is the main reason why this movie works.    Another reason the movie works is the pacing not once was I bored in this movie. Not once did I ever feel like the movie was rushed or moving to slow. The first act of the movie there isn't that much violence or action but it takes its time in the first act to build-up the characters, the setting, and the tension. By the time that Kyle Reese and Sarah Connor actually get together and try to fight The Terminator and Sarah Connor learns about The Terminator, we are so invested into the characters and the story that the movie can really take off.    The action scenes are extremely well done and there are two types of action scenes in this movie you have the ones that take place in 1984 and then you have the ones that take place in 2029. The action scenes that take place in 1984 are the most memorable because you are invested in the characters and the story, but the action in 2029 with the laser blast and seeing that stop-motion animation it just looks so badass and cool. The car chase, the fight in the police station, and the other chases from The Terminator they are all practically done which just makes the film feel so much more intense.  They did make a Terminator puppet for the actors to interact with which makes it more believable.    At the center of the movie, we have Linda Hamilton playing Sarah Connor and Michael Biehn playing Kyle Reese. They have great chemistry, and they both bring tons of passion to this movie. Sarah Connor starts off as the damsel in distress, but as she starts to learn about The Terminator she becomes the more badass Sarah Connor the mother of the leader of the human resistance. Kyle Reese lives in 2029 this bleak dark disgusting future, and he goes back in time with no way to go back just to save the mother of the man that has inspired him to fight against the machines.  This movie is wonderful 5 out of 5 stars for The Terminator. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Monday, October 21, 2019

ZOMBIELAND: DOUBLE TAP MOVIE REVIEW

 Zombieland: Double Tap is directed by Ruban Fleischer and stars Woody Harrelson, Jesse Eisenberg, Abigail Breslin, Emma Stone, Rosario Dawson, Zoey Deutch, and Luke Wilson. The plot of the movie is Columbus, Tallahassee, Wichita, and Little Rock move to the American heartland as they face off against evolved zombies, fellow survivors, and the growing pains of the snarky makeshift family.  I loved the first Zombieland, but with it having been ten years since the first film I had my doubts about this movie. Unfortunately, this movie is a huge letdown. The main cast is as great in their roles as they were the first time. This movie started out great when all four of these characters are together it is so much fun.     Around 15 minutes in is when this movie starts to fall apart we meet Madison played by Zoey Deutch she plays the valley girl type character, and she is so annoying by the end of the movie I actually had a headache from listening to her speak. Another thing that brings this movie down for me is that for a majority of it Little Rock is not with the group.  The humor in this movie I thought barely worked at all.  2 out of 5 stars for Zombieland: Double Tap. I hope you enjoyed my review.


ZOMBIELAND MOVIE REVIEW

 Zombieland is directed by Ruben Fleischer and stars Woody Harrelson, Jesse Eisenberg, Emma Stone, and Abigail Breslin. The plot of the movie is a shy student trying to reach his family in Ohio, a gun-toting tough guy trying to find the last Twinkie, and a pair of sisters trying to get to an amusement park join forces to travel across a zombie-filled America.  I love this movie not only is this movie incredibly funny but it also has a lot of hart to it. For instance, the character Tallaahasse played by Woody Harrelson he comes off as this really rude badass character gunslinging cowboy type character who doesn't give a shit about anyone, but you realize there is a good reason for that because he hates Zombieland and that is why he takes such pride in killing zombies and why he is so good at it for the reason that he lost something so close and dear to him. His backstory and how it initially is told one way, but then you realize that it is another way and you do sympathize with that character.  You get the same thing with Columbus played by Jesse Eisenberg he eventually realizes that the place he is headed is a ghost town and his family is gone.    What makes this movie work besides the characterization and the emotional beats that are provided throughout along with the comedy and the horror elements this movie has a lot of pop-culture references. Whether it's Bill Murry, Ghostbusters, or certain things that Tallahassee and Columbus say.  The practical effects involving the zombies are really good.   Zombieland is a movie that has a lot of horror elements, but not too many to oversaturate the comedic tone. It is very funny and lighthearted, but not too much to take away from the emotional beats where you care about all these characters. Basically, Tallahasse was the companion and brother that Columbus never had and Jesse Eisenberg was the love interest that Emma Stone's Wichita never really wanted or cared to have, but they just found each other and Tallahasse became the father figure Abigail Breslin''s Little Rock never wanted.  5 out of 5 stars for Zombieland. I hope you enjoyed my review.


Sunday, October 20, 2019

MALEFICENT: MISTRESS OF EVIL MOVIE REVIEW

 Maleficent: Mistress of evil is directed by Joachim Ronning and star Angelina Jolie, Elle Fanning, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Sam Riley, Ed Skrein, Imelda Staunton, Juno Temple, Lesley Manville, and Michelle Pfeiffer. The plot of the movie is Maleficent and her goddaughter Aurora begin to question the complex family ties that bind them as they are pulled in different directions by impending nuptials, unexpected allies, and dark new forces at play. This movie is so dull there is very little to like about it. Angelina Jolie is once again fantastic, but she is hardly on screen for whatever reason. Michelle Pfeiffer is amazing aswell. The film looks beautiful and the creature designs are great.       Most of this movie is spent with Aurora and Prince Philip both characters are so dull, lifeless, and boring that it makes the movie difficult to sit through. The story is also not interesting at all.  1 out of 5 stars for Maleficent: Mistress of Evil. I hope you enjoyed my review.

MALEFICENT MOVIE REVIEW

 Maleficent is directed by Robert Stromberg and stars Angelina Jolie, Sharlto Copley, Elle Fanning, Sam Riley, Imelda Staunton, Juno Temple, and Lesley Manville. The plot of the movie is a vengeful fairy is driven to curse an infant princess, only to discover that the child may be the one person who can restore peace to their troubled land.   I was looking forward to this movie Sleeping Beauty is one of my favorite Disney animated movies and Maleficent is my favorite Disney villain So I was very interested to see this new take on the story.  This was a very disappointing movie, but there are some good things about it. Angelina Jolie is fantastic in this movie I like that we got to see the backstory of her character she was the only character in this movie that had any development. The standout scene is when she places the curse on Aurora it felt just like the original animated film and her performance was chilling.    When I'm watching a fantasy Disney movie I want to have fun and feel like a kid, but I never had that feeling watching this. There's only one scene where that happened which I mentioned before and the rest of the movie I was bored.  There are these three fairy characters they are so fucking annoying they spoke in high-pitched voices, and they had way too much screen time. Every time they were on screen I wanted to rip my ears off. The final big action sequence felt so anticlimactic everything ends so abruptly and everything goes back to being peaceful in such a short amount of time.  2 out of 5 stars for Maleficent. I hope you enjoyed my review.

Friday, October 18, 2019

THE ADDAMS FAMILY MOVIE REVIEW

 The Addams Family is directed by Conrad Vernon and Greg Tiernan. The film stars Oscar Isaac, Charlize Theron, Chloe Grace Moretz, Finn Wolfhard, Nick Kroll, Snoop Dog, Bette Midler, and Alison Janney. The movie is an animated version of Charles Addams' series of cartoons about a peculiar, ghoulish family. I had a lot of fun watching this movie. I like The Addams Family they are very entertaining, they are charismatic, and constantly though this movie we see them do crazy things. Pugsley's idea of fun is running around outside with a slingshot with explosives attached to it and slinging it at people mostly his dad, Wednesday's idea of fun is shooting a crossbow into the house windows and maybe sometimes it will hit Uncle Fester, and Morticia she likes to go up to the cemetery for a nice meal with her family. I found this movie to be very funny.   My only issue with this movie is the main antagonist Margaux Needler a TV personality she is so over-the-top and her motives are completely unclear. She wants to ruin the Addams Families' lives just because they are different from her, so she is going to destroy their house.  The movie is very entertaining, a lot of the humor works, and the animation style very unique.  4 out of 5 stars for The Addams Family. I hope you enjoyed my review.

GEMINI MAN MOVIE REVIEW

 Gemini Man is directed by Ang Lee and stars Will Smith, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Clive Owen, and Benedict Wong. The plot of the movie is an over-the-hill hitman faces off against a younger clone of himself. This is an awful movie one of the worst scripts of the year for a big-budget Hollywood film. This script has been tossed around for a long time at one point Mel Gibson was attached another time Cint Eastwood was. A lot of people have tried to make this movie, but the technology was not where they needed it to be.  The movie is credited by a lot of screenwriters more than likely because many rewrites have taken place.    A lot of time exposition is something that is pinpointed as a problem with screenplays, but every screenplay needs some to set things up. The shit in this movie is so mind-numbingly stupid there is an entire scene in which Mary Elizabeth Winstead has to tell older Will Smith that younger Will Smith is definitely him, and she repeats he is you, no he is you, no his DNA  is a direct match with you you don't understand he is you at least 20 fucking times.  This film is so damn slow the scenes leading up to him discovering his younger self are boring. Most of the actors in this film seem like they were not interested in the material.    The de-aging technology is perfect most of those scenes are in the dark there are some sequences in an underground sewer system and those looked fantastic. The action in the movie is at times enjoyable there is a great motorcycle chase.  1 out of 5 stars for Gemini Man. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Tuesday, October 8, 2019

JOKER MOVIE REVIEW

 Joker is directed by Todd Phillips and stars Joaquin Phoenix, Robert De Niro, Zazie Beetz, and Frances Conroy. The plot of the movie is in Gotham City, mentally-troubled comedian Arthur Fleck is disregarded and mistreated by society. He then embarks on a downward spiral of revolution and bloody crime. This path brings him face-to-face with his alter-ego "The Joker".    This is an enjoyable movie, but it is being very overhyped. Joaquin Phoenix is incredible as this character. The character of Arthur Fleck is someone who doesn't feel like he is being fed any happiness by the world.  In every scene where you're spending time with this character, you see the pain behind his eyes how he is trying so hard to be happy to try and find any sort of joy in the world around him. After a while, he just gives up trying because he is treated like shit and the disturbing part is you kind of understand why he does what he does towards the second half of the film.    This is a gorgeous looking movie with beautiful striking cinematography and a really great color palette that perfectly suits this character and this story.  The movie has some very disturbing elements with I thought were very effective.    The main problem with this movie is the pacing the movie moves so slow that there were times when I wanted to fall asleep. The supporting cast ranges from great to forgettable. Frances Conroy plays Arthur's Mother and the two have great chemistry together. Robert De Niro does a decent job as a talk show host. Zazie Beetz plays Sophie Arthur's neighbor and her character is very dull there isn't much to her.    The final act of this movie excellent, but it felt like it took forever to get to it.  3 out of 5 stars for Joker. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Sunday, September 29, 2019

ABOMINABLE MOVIE REVIEW

 Abominable is directed by Jill Culton and stars Chloe Bennet, Albert Tsai, Eddie Izzard, Sarah Paulson, and Tsai Chin. The plot of the movie is a magical Yeti must return to his family. Most of the time DreamWorks puts out great animated films, but the trailers for this looked awful so I went into this not expecting much.  This movie is enjoyable, but it is not a great animated film and DreamWorks has definitely done a lot better. I think this movie will keep kids entertained, but if you are an adult you may find it hard to sit through because the story is so cliched. The story is so familiar and the characters while not terrible don't have much to them, but they are likable enough. The movie does have funny moments just not as many as I was hoping for. This is one of DreamWorks best looking animated movies I just wish the story had been better.  3 out of 5 stars for Abominable. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Saturday, September 28, 2019

JUDY MOVIE REVIEW

 Judy is directed by Rupert Goold and stars Renee Zellweger, Finn Wittrock, Jessie Buckley, Rufus Sewell, and Michael Gambon. The movie is about legendary performer Judy Garland as she arrives in London in the winter of 1968 to perform a series of sold-out concerts. I am a fan of Judy Garland, so I was looking forward to this movie and I ended up thinking that it was just decent.    Renee Zellweger is fantastic. Her singing voice is amazing. My favorite scenes were between her and her kids. At times the movie will flashback to Young Judy, and she is played by Darci Shaw she is not in the movie that much, but I was enjoying the flashbacks a lot more than I was the stuff with adult Judy.   The supporting cast in the movie are not that great and the movie does drag at times because of them. I wish the movie had more flashbacks since the times it did were my favorite parts of the film. Also, the movie ends very abruptly.  3 out of 5 stars for Judy. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Sunday, September 22, 2019

AD ASTRA MOVIE REVIEW

 Ad Astra is directed by James Gray and stars Brad Pitt, Tommy Lee Jones, Ruth Negga, Liv Tyler, and Donald Sutherland. The plot of the movie is Astronaut Roy McBride undertakes a mission across an unforgiving solar system to uncover the truth about his missing father and his doomed expedition that now, 30 years later, threatens the universe.    This is one of the most boring movies I have ever seen. It has been a while since I last fell asleep in a movie, but with this I almost did. The movie is paced horribly and the story is very dull. I like Brad Pitt and Tommy Lee Jones, but the characters they were playing have no personality so you don't care about them. As for the rest of the cast they are barely in the movie.  0 out of 5 stars for Ad Astra. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Friday, September 6, 2019

IT CHAPTER 2 MOVIE REVIEW

 IT Chapter 2 is directed by Andy Muchietti and stars James McAvoy, Jessica Chastain, Bill Hader, Isaiah Mustafa, Jay Ryan, James Ransone, Andy Bean, Jaeden Martell, Sophia Lillis, Jeremy Ray Taylor, Finn Wolfhard, Chosen Jacobs, Jack Dylan Grazer, Wyatt Oleff, and Bill Skarsgard. The plot of the movie is twenty-seven years after their first encounter with the terrifying Pennywise, the Losers Club have grown up and moved away until a devastating phone call brings them back. I have been super excited for this sequel because I loved the first movie, I thought it was a great adaptation of the Stephen King novel which I also really enjoyed, and I thought we were given characters we really got to know and love.    I loved this movie it expands on what I really loved about that first film and also introduces some new things. The performances are amazing not only do we get to see the return of the younger losers in flashbacks they still have that amazing chemistry that they had in the first film, but I really wanted to see how good the adult versions of these characters would be. Not only have they cast actors that truly look the part of the grown-up versions of those characters, but they really picked the perfect actors to portray these characters, because you really buy into them they have all their personalities and you get to see them have their own unique chemistry as adults and you see they have to slowly ease into that because they haven't seen each other in so long.    Bill Hader has been getting a lot of praise for his performance in this movie and I think he delivers a great turn here as the grown-up version of Richie he is really great in the dramatic moments that this movie gives him, and he is also a source of a lot of the comedy in the film. Jessica Chastain who plays Beverly all grown-up and James MacAvoy who plays Bill all grown-up they're terrific in the movie as you would expect they are great actors, and they were perfect for these characters, and they really hit some great emotional beats with their characters. Everyone in the cast fills their role perfectly, and there was not a single weak link. Bill Skarsgard is incredible as Pennywise. He can be terrifying or funny you don't know what he is going to do. This is a character that always keeps you on the edge of your seat you don't know when he's going to do something truly horrifying and Bill Skarsgard he completely embodies this character.    This movie is directed by Andy Muchietti who also directed the first film, and he did a fantastic job this is a really good-looking movie the cinematography is gorgeous this is an amazingly filmed movie it is one of the most beautiful looking horror movies I've seen in a long time. Muchiette makes this way scarier than the first film. The first movie I thought was more creepy than scary, but this film is definitely more of a horror film there are a lot more jump scars and thankfully they are effective. Muchietti definitely knows how to milk every scene for all the tension they have, he is great at building suspense, and he's great at giving a really good satisfying terrifying payoff. There is a fantastic balance between horror and comedy. He has done a wonderful job with these two films. You can definitely tell that he is operating on a much bigger scale than the first movie this movie is bigger and definitely feels wider in scope, but it feels like the story makes that necessary where you feel like it couldn't be done on a smaller scale or a smaller budget.    I love that they keep that hart that the first film had it was what I loved the most about that first IT movie. Yes, it was a fun horror movie that you can watch and jump a little be on the edge of your seat, but I really loved it because I loved those characters and the bond that they formed and that is carried over into this movie. There are some really great emotional scenes between characters where they are getting closer or you're learning new things about them. Everyone feels fully fleshed out everyone here feels three-dimensional and I'm happy they didn't come up short in the character development because that would have been very disappointing.    The length of the movie was something I heard a lot of complaints about I thought it flew by I didn't feel there were any unnecessary or redundant scenes. I felt like every scene served a purpose.  5 out of 5 stars for IT Chapter 2. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Tuesday, September 3, 2019

READY OR NOT MOVIE REVIEW

 Ready or not is directed by Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett. The film stars Samara Weaving, Adam Brody, Mark O'Brien, Henry Czerny, and Andie MacDowell. The plot of the movie is a bride's wedding night takes a sinister turn when her eccentric new in-laws force her to take part in a terrifying game. The premise alone got me excited to see this I thought it was original, the cast looked great and I really loved the way the movie looked aswell.    Unfortunately, this is a terrible film. The lead actress Samara Weaving is incredible in this movie. Performances in horror movies, for the most part, they really get overlooked and it's unfortunate because those are some of the hardest performances to pull off. Too believably looked scared and terrified and react to things in a way that a normal person would you think it might be easy, but it's probably one of the hardest things to do as an actor. Weaving not only has to act believably scared and shocked by what she is experiencing, but she is also able to find the perverse humor in what she is going through.    Other than Samara Weaving who knows how silly of a concept this movie has the rest of the cast take this way too seriously. Most of the scares in this movie are jump scares, and they really overuse them and like most horror films that use jump scares you can predict exactly when it is going to happen.  1 out of 5 stars for Ready or Not. I hope you enjoyed my review.



DON'T LET GO MOVIE REVIEW

 Don't Let Go is directed by Jacob Aaron Estes and stars David Oyelowo, Storm Reid, Byron Mann, and Mykelti Williamson. The plot of the movie is after a man's family dies in what appears to be a murder, he gets a phone call from one of the dead, his niece. He's not sure if she's a ghost or if he's going mad, but as it turns out, he's not.  The best part of this movie is David Oyelowo he is incredible in this role and even in scenes that are not written well from a character perspective he makes them watchable.    The first act of the movie when this murder happens and discovering this interesting connection that happens is very mysterious, and I was having a great time watching it. At some point, the movie becomes a series of phone calls and that is about all this movie has going for it. For the first 40 minutes, that time crossed phone call that happens is really compelling. Unfortunately, they keep doing the same thing. It is just a lot of phone calls and a lot of attempts to change things and at some point, the plot gets very difficult to follow.    The only characters in this movie that I cared about were Jack played by David Oyelowo and Ashley played by Storm Reid. Once the twist of the movie happens it becomes confusing and even though the characters are great I just didn't care anymore because it's hard to follow.  It is around the halfway point that a switch happens and then something else happens and it suffers from the same issues a lot of time travel movies do where nothing really makes sense anymore and you could pick holes in it forever.  The movie is at least watchable because of the two lead performances.  3 out of 5 stars for Don't Let Go. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Sunday, August 25, 2019

GOOD BOYS MOVIE REVIEW

 Good Boys is directed by Gene Stupinitsky and stars Jacob Tremblay, Keith L. Williams, Brady Noon, Molly Gordon, Lil Rel Howery, Will Forte, and Midori Francis. The plot of the movie is three 6th grade boys ditch school and embark on an epic journey while carrying accidentally stolen drugs by teenage girls, and trying to make their way home in time for a long-awaited party.    This movie is pure garbage. The movie thinks it is funnier than it actually is I didn't laugh once watching this. The movie relies a lot on foul language, sex, and drugs to be funny which every once in a while it would have been, but that is all the film has to go on and it gets old really fast.  The cast is awful as well. The characters are extremely annoying.  0 out of 5 stars for Good Boys. I hope you enjoyed my review.



SCARY STORIES TO TELL IN THE DARK MOVIE REVIEW

 Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark is directed by Andre Ovredal and stars Zoe Colletti, Michael Garza, Gabriel Rush, Austin Zajur, Natalie Ganzhorn, Austin Abrams, Dean Norris, Gil Bellows, and Lorraine Toussaint. The plot of the movie is a group of teens face their fears in order to save their lives. I was really looking forward to this movie I enjoy horror movies and the trailers for this looked interesting.    Unfortunately, this movie really let me down. The downside of this movie has nothing to do with the horror sequences they are all very well done. There is a lot of suspense and a lot of really creepy imagery. The score is also really well done with the sequences going on it gets you sucked into the moment. I liked the mythology they introduced with the fictional Sarah Bellows and the Bellows family and how this ties into the scary stories that are going on. The main character Stella is easily the best character in this film because she has the most going on and I thought the actress playing her did a very good job.    Even though Stella had the most going on it's not entirely great her family aspect of her mom having left a long time ago, and she blames herself it is barely touched on and is only brought up when they need it for a manipulative emotional moment later on in the film that didn't work at all.  Certain scenes felt rushed as soon as we see the first horror sequence with Harold the Scarecrow imminently after there is no moment where the characters are in disbelief over what happened instantly we cut to them saying that they think the book is haunted and killing people. It's very fast and I didn't think that was the best way to approach this it should have been more psychological tormenting.    The rushed feeling also affects the character's relationships at first. When you meet them they are talking on walkie-talkies about meeting up and when they do meet up they are pulling a prank on this bully that's picking on them. There is no time for you to get to know them.  There is one character named chuck who is supposed to be the comedic relief they give him all the jokes and none of them are funny. The ending of this movie seemed very abrupt almost like the filmmakers rushed this film on purpose because they had better ideas for a sequel.  2 out of 5 stars for Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark. I hope you enjoyed my review.





Wednesday, August 21, 2019

FAST AND FURIOUS PRESENTS: HOBBS AND SHAW MOVIE REVIEW

 Fast and Furious Presents: Hobbs and Shaw is directed by David Leitch and stars Dwayne Johnson, Jason Statham, Idris Elba, Venessa Kirby, and Helen Mirren. The plot of the movie is lawman Luke Hobbs and outcast Deckard Shaw form an unlikely alliance when a cyber-genetically enhanced villain threatens the future of humanity. This movie is so much dumb fun and that is exactly what I wanted.    The highlight of this movie is the amazing chemistry between Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham. These two are perfect together the scenes where they're just insulting each other back and forth are the funniest scenes in the movie and you can tell they are having a blast. I like that in the beginning, you can see that they don't want to work together, but as the movie goes on you see them become more of a team. Venessa Kirby was great also. I think she is a great action star. The three characters work really well together.  Idris Elba plays the villain of the movie, and he is definitely one of the best Fast and Furious villains and I loved seeing him in action scenes with Johnson and Statham.  The action sequences are very well filmed, and they are extremely fun and over-the-top just like you would want from a Fast and Furious movie.    The one problem is the story wasn't that interesting they have to stop this virus from being spread we've seen that before, and they don't do anything new with it.  4 out of 5 stars Fast and Furious Presents: Hobbs and Shaw. I hope you enjoyed my review.



ONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD MOVIE REVIEW

 Once Upon a Time in Hollywood is directed by Quentin Tarantino and stars Leonardo DiCaprio, Brad Pitt, Margot Robbie, Emile Hirsch, Margaret Qualley, Timothy Olyphant, Austin Butler, Dakota Fanning, Bruce Dern, and Al Pacino. The plot of the movie is a faded television actor and his stunt double strive to achieve fame and success in the film industry during the final years of Hollywood's Golden Age in 1969 Los Angeles. I was dreading seeing this movie I have hated every Tarantino movie I find them to be longer than necessary and extremely boring. This movie is painfully dull I like a lot of the actors, but what they had to work with so bad that they couldn't save the movie for me.   The movie definitely feels its length it is 2 hours and 40 minutes. Tarantino has said that his next film will be his last and I certainly hope so.  0 out of 5 stars for Once Upon a time in Hollywood. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Friday, July 19, 2019

THE LION KING MOVIE REVIEW

 The Lion King is directed by Jon Favreau and stars Donald Glover, Seth Rogen, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Alfre Woodard, Billy Eichner, John Kani, John Oliver, Beyonce Knowles, and James Earl Jones. The plot of the movie is after the murder of his father, a young lion prince flees his kingdom only to learn the true meaning of responsibility and bravery. I was extremely excited to see this The Lion King is my favorite animated film of all time and Jon Favreau directed the remake of The Jungle Book which I loved.     It pains me to say that this movie is complete trash. In regards to the visuals, I thought this film looked very ugly. The people who worked on this movie wanted it to seem lifelike ironically this entire movie feels lifeless.  I have loved Hans Zimmer's score ever since I first heard it 25 years ago, but it is somehow lacking energy and excitement in this movie. The opening scene with "The Circle of Life" is recreated, but like so much else in this film is devoid of energy. The story is the same as before the only difference being that it is not emotionally effective at all. The characters are lifeless so there is no reason to care about any of them. This movie is a shot for shot remake of the animated film.    The movie has no personality of its own and there are no surprises. There is very little that is new and the things that are new are mostly things that have been removed or shortened.  My favorite song in The Lion King is "Be Prepared" it is heavily shortened which pissed me off if I wasn't reviewing movies I would have got up and left after that.    What saddened me the most even more than my favorite song being shortened is that the personality of the original film has been removed. I loved the idea of Jon Favreau taking this and making it his own, but he hasn't all throughout the movie I was thinking "What is the point of this if it is just a shot for shot remake."  I have loved the animated movie ever since I first saw it in 1994 I have watched it countless times. Coming out of this movie I know that I will never watch it again.  Since the characters looked like real lions they were unable to convey the level of emotion that the characters in the original had. The cast sounded bored Donald Glover as Adult Simba was very bland. Seth Rogen and Billy Eichner as Pumbaa and Timon were extremely annoying all of the jokes with them are not funny at all. Chiwetel Ejiofor as Scar I feel was trying too hard to copy Jeremy Irons, and he failed. He sounds like he is about to fall asleep at any moment. John Oliver as Zazu was also annoying and not funny. Beyonce Knowles as Nala was Just as bland as Glover. I was so excited to hear James Earl Jones back as Mufasa, but he sounded like he was bored and didn't give a shit. When this film was originally announced I was mad that they did not get Jeremy Irons back for Scar, but after hearing James Earl Jones half-assing it, I am glad they did not bring him back.    This movie has none of the energy of the animated movie. The emotion and humor have been removed in favor of a bland retelling of a story that we already know and love.  0 out of 5 stars for The Lion King. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Saturday, July 13, 2019

CRAWL MOVIE REVIEW

 Crawl is directed by Alexandre Aja and stars Kaya Scodelario and Barry Pepper. The plot of the movie is a young woman while attempting to save her father during a category 5 hurricane, finds herself trapped in a flooding house and must fight for her life against alligators. I knew nothing about this movie going into it. It is not going to end up being one of my favorite movies of the year, but I did enjoy most of it.    The acting isn't that great, but Kaya Scodelario and Barry Pepper's characters are so likable that I can forgive that. The film moves at a nice pace it is only 90 minutes long and not a single minute feels wasted. The movie builds tension very well. The time element of the water rising makes the family have to go from floor to floor and every time the water rises the alligators have access to a new part of the house.  The film does have some jump scares that are very easy to see coming. The entire film is pretty predictable as well.  3 out of 5 stars for Crawl. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Wednesday, July 3, 2019

SPIDER-MAN: FAR FROM HOME MOVIE REVIEW

 Spider-Man: Far From Home is directed by Jon Watts and stars Tom Holland, Samuel L. Jackson, Zandaya, Cobie Smulders, Jon Favreau, J. B. Smoove, Jacob Batalon, Martin Starr, Marisa Tomei, and Jake Gyllenhaal. The plot of the movie is following the events of Avengers: Endgame, Spider-Man must step up to take on new threats in a world that has changed forever. I loved everything about this movie for me this is the best Spider-Man movie yet.    The story was consistently interesting it rarely ever gave Peter time to relax he was always moving. He is trying to impress MJ, and he's trying to be there for his friends on this trip, but also Nick Fury needs him to help with this major problem. So he has to balance both. That is classic Spider-Man never having enough time for your life, but also having to be a hero when you are not ready to be the movie captures that extremely well. Tom Holland is fantastic I would love to see him play Spider-man in many more movies. Zandaya as MJ was great in Homecoming, but here she is even better she has a lot more to do. She has a lot of very funny lines. The scenes between her are Peter are very cute the two of them have amazing chemistry together.    Just like in Spider-Man: Homecoming they do a great job at balancing the high school comedy aspects with the superhero stuff and both of those things are interesting. They applied a race against time element to the high school stuff. Peter wants to confess how he feels to MJ and every chance he gets something is in the way so it gets you invested. Jake Gyllenhaal as Mysterio was very good. The director Jon Watts did an amazing job with the action scenes they all feel very intense. This movie does have a scene that made me very happy I wish I could say what it is here, but that would be a spoiler.    Overall I loved everything about this movie. The character and story are a lot of fun, all of the jokes are extremely funny, and the action scenes are amazing. In my Avengers: Endgame review I said Marvel would have to make one hell of a movie to top it well that is exactly what they have done.  5 out of 5 stars for Spider-Man: Far From Home. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Friday, June 28, 2019

YESTERDAY MOVIE REVIEW

 Yesterday is directed by Danny Boyle and stars Himesh Patel, Lily James, Ed Sheeran, and Kate McKinnon. The plot of the movie is a struggling musician realizes he's the only person on Earth who can remember The Beatles after waking up in an alternate timeline where they never existed. I was really looking forward to seeing this movie the concept seemed very unique plus I really like The Beatles music.    I loved everything about this movie it is very touching and heartwarming. Himesh Patel plays Jack, and he gives an excellent performance the way that he forms the music into his own within his own singing voice is pure excellence. Lily James plays Ellie. I personally feel that she is one of the strongest actresses working today. Her character is so easy to like, and she seems like a real person that we know in our own lives. Himesh Patel and Lily James work really well together I felt invested in both of their characters and I enjoyed every scene they had together. This movie gets you so invested you want them to end up together.  Ed Sheeran was great he had a lot of funny moments. Kate McKinnon for me can sometimes be funny, but most of the time is really annoying.  thankfully she is really funny here, but I felt it could have gone the other way if she had more screentime.    Fans of The Beatles will love this movie, rom-com fans will find something to like, music fans will find something to like and Yesterday, in general, is just one of those heartwarming feel-good movies.  5 out of 5 stars for Yesterday. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Thursday, June 27, 2019

CHILD'S PLAY MOVIE REVIEW

 Child's Play is directed by Lars Klevberg and stars Aubrey Plaza, Gabriel Bateman, Brian Tyree Henry, and Mark Hamill. The plot of the movie is a mother gives her 13-year-old son a toy doll for his birthday, unaware of its more sinister nature. This movie is nothing amazing, but I did end up enjoying it. It has a fun vibe to it, there's a lot of gory deaths it makes good use of its R rating, and it doesn't try to take itself too seriously. The performances are not great, but they aren't horrible either. The young actor Gabriel Bateman I thought was the best in the movie. Aubrey Plaza does a fine job as his mother. The two of them worked very well together. There is nothing new there the mother has a boyfriend and the kid doesn't like him and it creates tension we've seen that before.  Brian Tyree Henry plays a detective who is often at his mother's house which is right next door to the main family. He gets a good line every now and then, but to me, he was the weakest in the film.  Mark Hamill as the voice of Chucky was excellent he made this doll very creepy.    This film main problem is characterization it's not great the main kid at one point meets these neighborhood kids and there is nothing to those characters I couldn't even tell you their names. When people start being killed since there's no investment in any of the characters except for the mother and son it's just watching Chucky kill people. There is some good build-up and tension.  3 out of 5 stars for Child's Play. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Friday, June 21, 2019

TOY STORY 4 MOVIE REVIEW

 Toy Story 4 is directed by Josh Cooley and stars Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Annie Potts, Tony Hale, Keegan-Michael Key, Jordan Peele, Christina Hendricks, Keanu Reeves, Ally Maki, Jay Hernandez, Lori Alan, and Joan Cusack. The plot of the movie is when a new toy called "Forky" joins Woody and the gang, a road trip alongside old and new friends reveals how big the world can be for a toy.    Before I get started I am a huge fan of the first three films to me all three are masterpieces. While I had major concerns about the 4th movie's existence in general, I was willing to give it a shot. Coming out of the film I was majorly let down and it makes me so sad to say that.    The problems start with the randomness of the plot, and the amount of themes that it is trying to cover in one movie. Is it primarily about getting Forky home to Boonie, which was surprisingly my favorite storyline because from the trailers I thought I would hate Forky. Is it about Woody finding Bo which I thought was a fun storyline at first, but got sick of it after a while. Is it about Gabby finding an owner which was completely boring, also I thought Forky was going to be annoying, but no Gabby is the one that is annoying. So I really wish they had just stuck with trying to get Forky back to Bonnie.   The beauty of the first three movies were that they had a clearly defined main plot: Toy Story was about the battle between Buzz/Woody and getting back to Andy from Sid; Toy Story 2 was about getting Woody back to Andy, and Toy Story 3 was about escaping the daycare center. Unfortunately, in Toy Story 4 an actual coherent main plot is removed in favor of action sequences, the featuring of new characters most of which I did not care about instead of beloved old ones.    Toy Story 4 remains unsure what it wants to ultimately be about and I guess that blurred vision comes from the 8 screenwriters who are credited for their input into the story. Regulars such as Jessie, Rex, Hamm, Bullseye, Slinky Dog and the Potato Heads are all given next to no screentime which is a massive disappointment. Keeping them in the van for most of the movie is a lazy and ultimately boring decision for many of these beloved characters who each found much better things to do in Toy Story 2 and 3 in particular.    The barrage of new characters makes things far too confusing for the audience. The movie needed to be about Forky or Bo, not both. There wasn't any tension in finding Bo nor was there any in getting Forky back to Bonnie. A more wild-cap adventure separating Woody and Forky from the gang and finding Bo at the end of the film might have had a better pay off, but unfortunately, neither mean all that much to the audience given the other issue of spending so long at the Antique Store with Gaddy the most annoying character in all of these movies.    Meanwhile, another huge part of the movie Buzz is a shell of his former self. He has precious little to do that actually affects the plot and really needed to be in more actual danger and peril or more useful in saving Woody and Forky. Everything just feels so low-stakes compared to the first three movies. There's no fear of being incinerated, getting trapped on a plane to Japan, or being torn apart by a crazed kid. Instead, it's just all a bit simplistic and the film lacks any real dramatic tension. Perhaps they needed to lose the Gabby storyline.    Yes, this movie still has its moments Duke Caboom is an amusing and welcome addition, Forky is a very likable addition too, and the end was a nice send-off., but unfortunately, the setups all seemed too rushed that it didn't have the emotion it ultimately should have. I think by having too many writers the ultimate vision for this film got lost and the movie is all the poorer for it which is a real shame.  2 out of 5 stars for Toy Story 4. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Thursday, June 20, 2019

TOY STORY 3 MOVIE REVIEW

 Toy Story 3 takes place quite sometime after Toy Story 2. Andy the owner of the toys is moving on to college. He hasn't even looked at those toys for a long time, in fact, he even got rid of a few of the old toys. So the main premise of the movie is that Andy's toys end up at Sunny Side Daycare which when the humans aren't looking is run by Lots-O'-Huggin' Bear who is voiced by Ned Beatty. At first, the place seems nice, but unfortunately, their stay ends up being horrible. Andy's toys are moved to a room where the kids are not so nice. These kids are destructive and so Andy's toys have to find a way out of there, but it is not so easy because Lotso has taken over the place. You do eventually discover Lotso's backstory, and he has a crew of toys that run the place with him including a Ken doll voiced by Michael Keaton.     I see this movie in halves the first half is all set up, but the second half of the movie is this big plane for all these toys to get out. They almost make it out but are caught by Lotso. They end up in this garbage truck on the way to the dump. First, they are in this giant landfill, and then they are on the conveyer belt and this shredder is going to get them. So they have to find a magnet to get to the top and Lotso is still there and the toys won't leave him to be shredded, so they help him out. So they get past the shredder, and they think they see daylight, but it is the incinerator. Lotso is the one who sees the switch to turn it off, so he gets up and looks at them and says where is your kid now, and then he leaves. So the toys are thrown into the incinerator and it gets to the point where they don't see a way out and just accept their fate, but then they are saved by the green aliens. They all make it back to Andy's house, but Woody comes up with this idea because when he originally escapes he ended up going to this little girl Bonnie's house and Woody had the best playtime he had in years. So they decide to go to a new owner. Before Andy leaves he goes to Bonnie's house and gives her his toys.    The Animation in this is the best out of the three movies. Randy Newman's music is once again fantastic this movie doesn't feature any songs at least not during the film itself, but the score is just fantastic. The highlights to me are actually the very first scene and the very last scene in the movie. Randy Newman did write a song that plays over the credits called "We Belong Together". In my opinion, Toy Story 3 wrapped up the trilogy perfectly. So when PIXAR announced another one I thought I don't know about this.  5 out of 5 stars for Toy Story 3.



Wednesday, June 19, 2019

TOY STORY 2 MOVIE REVIEW

 Toy Story 2 starts off with Andy heading off to cowboy camp and you would think he would bring Woody, but just before he is about to leave he's playing with Woody, and he accidentally rips Woody's arm. So Woody is left behind. While Andy is at cowboy camp his mother puts on a yard sale and while trying to rescue another toy from this yard sale Woody is stolen by a guy named Al. So now Buzz and the rest of the gang have to go on this journey to find him and bring him home.    This is one of the greatest sequels ever made. The movie starts out with this whole sci-fi fantasy action sequence with Buzz Lightyear and it sucks you in right away with Buzz fighting Emperor Zurg. Turns out it is actually Rex and Buzz playing this video game in Andy's room. All the toys you loved from the first movie are back, but this movie being a sequel we also got some new characters. The guy Al who stole Woody he's a collector he ends up being a really sleazy dude, but you find out the franchise that this sheriff Woody doll comes from and that is a 50s TV show for kids called Woody's Roundup. Al has the rest of the Roundup gang which includes Bullseye the horse, Stinky Pete who is voiced by Kelsey Grammer who is the wise one of the group, and one of my favorite characters of the Toy Story series Jessi voiced by Joan Cusack. The very first thing you see of Jessi is when Woody first meets them, and she is so excited to see him because she has waited years for this and her energy really comes through and not only do you like her because she is fun, but you end up emotionally connecting with her later on because of her backstory.    So Woody is hanging out with his Roundup gang, meanwhile, Buzz and the crew are going on this perilous journey they have to hide underneath cones and cross the street through traffic eventually they make it to Al's Toy Barn. Buzz ends up meeting a new version of the Buzz Lightyear toy and so just like in the first movie we have a delusional Buzz. This new delusional Buzz ends up joining them and it's great you have Tim Allen voicing two characters who are the same character.  This movie also has some great lessons about life. There is a scene where the Prospector is talking to Woody the Roundup gang is going to be sold to a museum to make Al filthy rich so he tells Woody that he can be adored by children for generations or you can go back to your kid and eventually be discarded. Buzz, later on, tells Woody yeah you can be adored by children through a glass case, but you'll never have that feeling of closeness with a kid again and this time Buzz gets to tell Woody you are a toy.    Once again the music for Toy Story 2 was done by Randy Newman and once again the music is completely perfect. When we get to Jessi's backstory they have this song called "When She Loved Me" it's sung by Sara McLachlan and it has got to be one of the saddest songs I've heard in a Disney movie.  This movie does everything a sequel should do and it does it perfectly with the same loveable characters and new lovable characters, a really touching story with great life lessons, the humor is really funny, the emotional moments are very strong and the animation is once again beautiful.  5 out of 5 stars for Toy Story 2.



Tuesday, June 18, 2019

TOY STORY MOVIE REVIEW

 Toy Story is the first full-length feature film from PIXAR animation studios. Not only is it the first movie for PIXAR, but it's also the first movie of its kind meaning it is the first feature film to be completely CG It was very groundbreaking and revolutionary. It was also a smart move to make it kid-friendly.  So Toy Story takes place in a world where when the kids are away their toys come to life and have lives of their own. The movie starts off with Andy as a little kid he's got his toys his favorite toy being Sheriff Woody voiced by Tom Hanks and life is good. Woody loves being Andy's favorite toy, but not for selfish reasons. He sees the point of being a toy as not just being played with, but being there for their owner when they are needed.    All of the toys are voiced by legendary comedians and actors you got Rex voiced by Wallace Shawn, Mr. Potato Head voiced by Don Rickles, Bo Peep voiced by Annie Potts who's a love interest with Woody. So life is good for all these toys until Andy's birthday party comes up, and he gets a brand-new toy Buzz Lightyear voiced by Tim Allen.    Buzz replaces Woody as Andy's favorite toy and therefore becomes popular with Andy's other toys making Woody extremely jealous, but the problems do not stop there Buzz Lightyear is completely delusional. He thinks he is the actual Buzz Lightyear. So Woody now has to deal with this delusional toy who thinks he is an actual space ranger and the movie goes on from there.    This movie is fantastic not just because it's the first movie of its kind, but as a movie itself, it is amazing. The voice acting is great, the humor is really funny, and they have humor for both kids and adults, but it never gets to a point where it is inappropriate, the animation is beautiful, and the music by Randy Newman is extremely memorable.  If you haven't seen Toy Story at this point I would consider you not human 5 out of 5 stars for Toy Story.



Friday, June 14, 2019

MEN IN BLACK: INTERNATIONAL MOVIE REVIEW

 Men in Black: International is directed by F. Gary Gray and stars Chris Hemsworth, Tessa Thompson, Rebecca Ferguson, Kumail Nanjiani, Rafe Spall, Laurent Bourgeois, Larry Bourgeois, Emma Thompson, and Liam Neeson. The plot of the movie is The Men in Black have always protected the Earth from the scum of the universe. In this new adventure, they tackle their biggest threat to date: a mole in the Men in Black organization. I did not like any of the original three movies, but I was excited to see what a new director and new actors could bring to this series. Turns out this movie is more of the same.    I really enjoyed Chris Hemsworth and Tessa Thompson they definitely do the best they can with the very weak material they have to work with. There were a few jokes in here that I thought were funny, but the majority of them were horrible.    The Special effects in this movie are awful all of the aliens in this movie look so fake. The movie's main story having to do with this hive that they need to take down it's really lame and doesn't really go anywhere. The story doesn't go in any new and exciting directions, and I was surprised by how lifeless the action sequences were in this movie there was no energy to them or to most of the movie for that matter.  2 out of 5 stars for Men in Black: International. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Saturday, June 8, 2019

THE SECRET LIFE OF PETS 2 MOVIE REVIEW

 The Secret Life of Pets 2 is directed by Chris Renaud and stars Patton Oswalt, Eric Stonestreet, Kevin Hart, Jenny Slate, Tiffany Haddish, Lake Bell, Nick Kroll, Dana Carvey, Ellie Kemper, Hannibal Buress, Bobby Moynihan, and Harrison Ford. The movie is continuing the story of Max and his pet friends, following their secret lives after their owners leave them for work or school each day. I did not like the first movie and the only reason I saw this one was because it was the first time Harrison Ford voiced a character in an animated movie.  I thought that the animation has gotten better it's definitely not the prettiest animation out there, but I wasn't bothered by it. My favorite part of this movie was when Max goes to this farm in the countryside with his family and he meets a dog named Rooster voiced by Harrison Ford. Harrison Ford, I thought might sleepwalk through this voice role, but you could tell he was having a lot of fun. A lot of the stuff that comes out of this character's mouth was really funny. I also loved everything that happened in those scenes not only was it really funny, but it also taught Max to be a braver dog and that could have been a cheesy storyline, but the way they handled it was effective.    The majority of this movie I feel is just designed to babysit children there is a lot of dumb slapstick comedy. It felt like they did not have enough material to make a feature-length movie. This movie is only 1 hour and 26 minutes and you can feel that the people behind the scenes just didn't have enough meat to the storylines that they had in this movie, and they wrapped it up really fast and then the movie just ends.    It feels more like a TV episode there are three different stories going on all of which are very brief. Each of these characters has their own adventure and then eventually these storylines intersect for the climax of the movie, but all of this happened so fast.  1 out of 5 stars for The Secret Life of Pets 2. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Thursday, June 6, 2019

THE SECRET LIFE OF PETS MOVIE REVIEW

 The Secret Life of Pets is directed by Chris Renaud and stars Louis C. K., Eric Stonestreet, Kevin Hart, Jenny Slate, Ellie Kemper, Lake Bell, Dana Carvey, Hannibal Buress, Bobby, Moynihan, Steve Coogan. and Albert Brooks. The plot of the movie is the quiet life of a terrier named Max is upended when his owner takes in Duke, a stray whom Max instantly dislikes.    Within about 20 minutes it became really apparent that the movie was just going to be a series of slapstick gags and it never stops being that dogs are thrown into the air, looped around clotheslines, thrown off bridges, smacked into walls, and driving cars. Tons of stuff that really didn't make much sense which I would have been fine with if they kept that stuff to a minimum.  This movie is a perfectly fine mindless entertainment cartoon throwaway movie with cute animals. If you're a young kid or an adult that just wants that the movie will do just fine for you, but if like me you're looking for a slightly more mature animated movie I would not watch this film.    My biggest issue with this movie and it kept nagging me through the entire movie is that this film is almost a beat for beat ripoff of Toy Story. This film opens with a dog Max so excited about being With his owner he loves his owner so much life is perfect. Just like with Woody and Andy. When the owners go away all the animals come out and do their little secret society things and everything is perfect for max until a dog named Duke gets introduced and his territory is just completely ruined and life isn't the same anymore. Just like when Buzz Lightyear shows up.  The two end up getting lost in the city and have to make their way back home. There is even a climactic chase to get to a truck. It even has a bit of Toy Story 2 thrown in when Max is lost in the city in this film and a group of his friends organize a search party to find him. Just like when Woody is taken to Al's Toy Barn and the other toys go looking for him.    Yes aesthetically it is pets not toys and there are certain things thrown in like an underbelly organization of evil animals led by Kevin Hart as a rabbit who did everything I cannot stand in his performance. He does basically nothing other than scream and shout over and over again and it got very annoying.   The movie does have likable characters with the exception of Kevin Hart's character, the animation isn't great, but it is decent enough, and there are some funny jokes, just not as many as I would have liked. I just couldn't get past the fact that Illumination Entertainment basically stole a ton of ideas from Pixar remade Toy Story with pets and it was really blatant.  1 out of 5 stars for The Secret Life of Pets. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Wednesday, June 5, 2019

ROCKETMAN MOVIE REVIEW

 Rocketman is directed by Dexter Fletcher and stars Taron Egerton, Jamie Bell, Richard Madden, and Bryce Dallas Howard. This movie is a musical fantasy about the fantastical human story of Elton John's breakthrough years. I did enjoy most of this movie and that is because of the performance by Taron Egerton. I was blown away by how good he is especially since he does all of his own singing. The songs were a lot of fun there were some that I had heard before and didn't realize they were Elton John songs. Jamie Bell is also good as Bernie Elton John's primary writer. He is fantastic in the movie.    I did like seeing how Elton John grew up in a family that didn't really care, but some of those scenes did drag on a little too long. Also, the movie had three or four times when I thought it was going to end and after a while, I start to get annoyed. It does hit the beats of your normal biopic that we have seen many times before.  3 out of 5 stars for Rocketman. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Tuesday, June 4, 2019

GODZILLA: KING OF THE MONSTERS MOVIE REVIEW

 Godzilla: King of the Monsters is directed by Michael Dougherty and star Kyle Chandler, Vera Farmiga, Millie Bobby Brown, Bradley Whitford, Sally Hawkins, Charles Dance, Thomas Middleditch, Aisha Hinds, David Strathairn, Ken Watanabe, and Zhang Ziyi. The plot of the movie is the crypto-zoological agency Monarch faces off against a battery of god-sized monsters, including the mighty Godzilla, who collides with Mothra, Rodan, and his ultimate nemesis, the three-headed King Ghidorah.    I did not like the first Godzilla, but the trailers for this one looked like it was going to be better. One of the biggest complaints about the first film was there was not enough Godzilla. This film has a lot more of Godzilla as well as a lot of other monsters too. When the monsters are fighting it is easily the best part off the movie. Unfortunately, there is a lot of stuff with some people who are boring as hell. If you thought the humans in the first movie weren't fleshed out you are going to be bored to death by the people in this movie. They are just there to give exposition just about every scene in between a monster fight is people in a room telling a story. I do like a lot of the actors in this movie, but the script they are given to work with is very poor.  They had five years to work on this film and I do not understand why the characters are robots. Characters make choices in this movie with the end goal of monster chaos all over the world yes we all want to see that, but wouldn't it be nice if we got to that by some logical means.  The way the movie goes about having these monsters get released is insane.  The movie is so laser-focused on having enough of the monsters that they seem to have completely forgotten about the importance of story and character.  2 out of 5 stars for Godzilla: King of the Monsters. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Thursday, May 30, 2019

GODZILLA MOVIE REVIEW

Godzilla is directed by Gareth Edwards and stars Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Ken Watanabe, Elizabeth Olsen, Juliette Binoche, Sally Hawkins, David Strathairn, and Bryan Cranston. The plot of the movie is the world is beset by the appearance of monstrous creatures, but one of them may be the only one who can save humanity.    This movie was very disappointing because it's not a Godzilla movie until an hour into it. When Godzilla does show up it is worth it the action scenes are incredible. Out of the human characters, the best is Bryan Cranston he is not in the movie that much which was another disappointment. The visual effects are stunning this movie looks great.  The movie focuses a lot on Aaron Taylor-Johnson's character he is so dull I didn't care about his character at all. The other characters are just as boring. I couldn't tell you anything about them. The cinematography was so dark  I couldn't see what was going on sometimes.  1 out of 5 stars for Godzilla. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Friday, May 24, 2019

ALADDIN MOVIE REVIEW

 Aladdin is directed by Guy Ritchie and stars Will Smith, Mena Massoud, Naomi Scott, Marwan Kenzari, Navid Negahban, Nasim Pedrad and, Billy Magnussen. The plot of the movie is a kind-hearted street urchin and a power-hungry Grand Vizier vie for a magic lamp that has the power to make their deepest wishes come true. Aladdin is one of the best Disney animated films. It has one of the best voice performances with Robin Williams as Genie. I was interested to see what Disney would do with this there are parts of the animated movie that I thought would look beautiful in the live-action format. As each trailer for this movie came out I became less and less interested in seeing this, so I went in with very low expectations and it is slightly better than I thought it would be, overall it is not great.    I really do like this new Aladdin and Jasmine. I think they have really good chemistry together. They are great in the singing scenes, especially the Whole New World sequence. As for Will Smith, he is entertaining he is not trying to copy Robin Williams it is definitely his own version of Genie. His scenes with Aladdin when is in human form are some of the best in the movie. Also, the movie looks amazing there are some really great special effect sequences and there are some fun action scenes. The music numbers, for the most part, are decent. The ones from the original movie that are in here they are not bad the vocal performances are not terrible. They did give Jasmine a new song that wasn't in the original and I liked it.    What I didn't like about this movie was Marwan Kenzari as Jafar he looks and sounds like he is bored throughout the entire movie except for the very end when he is so over-the-top it is embarrassing. He made that character not menacing at all. Whenever he is on screen he just sucks all the life out of this movie.  The CGI on Will Smith when he is in Genie form is just as bad as it was in the trailer I thought I would get used to it after a while, but I did not. The musical moments like I mentioned are decent, but there is a lack of energy. Like I mentioned before the new song they gave to Jasmine I liked it she sings it twice and the first time it fits with the scene, but the second time it is during this big dramatic moment and I found it distracting. The biggest problem with this movie is the runtime it is over two hours the original is only an hour and a half so, they really stretch out this very simple story and you can definitely feel that.  2 out of 5 stars for Aladdin. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Saturday, April 27, 2019

AVENGERS: ENDGAME MOVIE REVIEW

 Avengers: Endgame is directed by Anthony Russo and Joe Russo. The movie stars Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Hemsworth, Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner, Don Cheadle, Paul Rudd, Brie Larson, Karen Gillan, Danai Gurira, Bradley Cooper, and Josh Brolin. The plot of the movie is after the devastating events of Avengers: Infinity War, the universe is in ruins. With the help of remaining allies, the Avengers assemble once more in order to undo Thanos' actions and restore order to the universe. This movie is everything I ever wanted and didn't even know I wanted from a Marvel movie. This really feels like a present to fans of the Marvel Cinematic Universe people who have followed every movie, and watched all the movies, and dissected every minute detail. This is for you this is your big warm hug of a movie, and it is incredible. The way the Russo brothers are able to handle so many different characters, give them all their due, give them all these great hero moments, tell an engaging, and immersive story, as well as that emotional resonance that you are looking for it is amazing that they are able to pull all that off with both Infinity War, and now Endgame. Infinity Wars was a massive movie, but this movie feels even bigger in scope. Not only in terms of action and spectacle, but in terms of emotion. This is a movie that makes you realize how much you care about these characters, and how much you have invested in these characters over the past decade. I loved Avengers: Infinity War, but I was shocked that I loved this movie even more. Everyone in the cast is incredible in this movie. The standouts for me are Robert Downey Jr. He is my favorite actor in the MCU. I have loved him as Iron Man since the first movie in 2008. The other standout to me is Chris Evans. He started out as being my least favorite actor, and Captain America was my least favorite character in the MCU to being my third favorite behind Iron man, and Spider-Man. They are both unbelievably good, they bring everything they have to these characters, and you can tell how much they have matured into these roles over the past decade, and they are just wonderful. Everyone else brings the best that they got to the table, and everyone has never been better as their respective characters. As for the movie itself, there is so much to love all the callbacks to previous films, the way all these characters are interacting in new, and exciting ways, and all the little small character moments that the Russo brothers throw in to remind us how much we care about these characters. There is so much emotional weight carried throughout the course of this film. This is a movie with the most emotional stakes out of any Marvel film. There are so many great scenes where I was tearing up where characters are getting these amazing dramatic moments or just incredible comedic moments. The story is super fun the way it unfolds is clever. This movie is surprisingly a lot funnier than I thought it was going to be. I knew there was going to be some Marvel humor, but I thought the movie was going to be darker which I was more than okay with since we are dealing with the fallout of half the world being wiped out, but there is so much humor in this movie, and all of it works very well. The action and spectacle does not disappoint whatsoever. The big climax of this movie is the best thing I have ever seen in a comic book movie. I was so overwhelmed by all the amazing things I was seeing. I don't remember the last time I smiled so wide watching a movie and felt like such a little kid. There are multiple times in this movie where I teared up hard, and I could hear that other people were as well. I was so attached to these characters, and anytime there was a certain thing that would happen that would get to me I didn't try to fight it. This is a decade of emotional attachment I'm not going to fight that shit. From beginning to end it's well-paced this is a three-hour movie, and it does not feel like three hours. These characters are fantastic, everyone gets a moment to shine, the story is super fun, and entertaining there is great humor, there is amazing hart, there is great emotional payoff for all these characters, and this overarching story and this is just the perfect MCU movie. I don't see them topping this it would have to be one hell of a movie to top Endgame. This is action movie perfection in my mind. This is everything I wanted I couldn't have asked for a better movie. It was well worth the wait, and I think they absolutely crushed it.  5 out of 5 stars for Avengers: Endgame. I hope you enjoyed my review.