Thursday, December 27, 2018

WELCOME TO MARWEN MOVIE REVIEW

Welcome to Marwen is directed by Robert Zemeckis and stars Steve Carell, Leslie Mann, Diane Kruger, Meritt Wever, Janelle Monae, Elza Gonzalez, Gwendoline Christie, and Neil Jackson. The plot of the movie is a victim of a brutal attack finds a unique and beautiful therapeutic outlet to help him through his recovery process.  I didn't like this movie that much all the acting in this movie is great, but the standouts are Steve Carell and Leslie Mann. I also really liked the animation in the doll world. I was much more invested in that stuff than with the real people. The movie does have some pretty good humor in it.    The movie feels very unfocused there are a couple of subplots that don't really go anywhere. They have a subplot with Leslie Mann's ex-boyfriend that just gets totally abandon. I also found the constant changing from the doll world to real-world distracting and that was probably because I wasn't that interested in the real world stuff.  This movie also feels like it is telling you how to feel rather than earning an emotional response.   Robert Zemeckis puts in references to some of his other movies and all I could think about was how those were better movies. It's not like Ready Player One where pop-culture references are a huge part of the story and feel organic here it's just remember this other movie I made.  2 out of 5 stars for Welcome to Marwen. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Wednesday, December 26, 2018

THE MULE MOVIE REVIEW

The Mule is directed by Clint Eastwood and stars Clint Eastwood, Bradley Cooper, Laurence Fishburne, Michael Pena, Dianne West, and Andy Garcia. The plot of the movie is a 90-year old horticulturist and Korean War veteran is caught transporting $3 million worth of cocaine through Illinois for a Mexican drug cartel. I wasn't looking forward to seeing this I haven't enjoyed the last few films that Clint Eastwood has directed.  I thought this movie was decent.    Clint Eastwood is really solid in the movie, however, I found the character unlikable. He's an ignorant jerk and not much of a family man.  Dianne West she is really good in this movie. She was one of the standouts for me as Clint Eastwood's characters ex-wife, and she kills it particularly in her last couple of sense.  Bradley Cooper, Michael Pena, Andy Garcia, and Laurence Fishburne are all great, but none of them have a whole lot of screen time.  The movie does have its funny moments the best one being with the bikers.    You have to sit through several drug runs before you get to the main one, and they all felt extremely repetitive and slowed the movie down. Also, there is a scene where he unzips the bag and is shocked at what he is transporting and all I could think was how big of a moron do you have to be not to realize what it is. He made the pick up with these big scary guys with guns what did he think it was milk and cookies?  3 out of 5 stars The Mule. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Friday, December 21, 2018

BUMBLEBEE MOVIE REVIEW

Bumblebee is directed by Travis Knight and stars Hailee Steinfeld, John Cena, Jorge Lendeborg Jr., John Ortiz, Jason Drucker, and Pamela Adlon. The plot of the movie is on the run in 1987, Bumblebee finds refuge in a junkyard in a small Californian beach town. Charlie, on the cusp of turning 18 and trying to find her place in the world, discovers Bumblebee, battle-scarred and broken.  The only Transformers movie that I liked was the first one in 2007, the four sequels just keep getting worse with each one. So, when this movie was announced I was dreading it. Then I found out that it wasn't going to be directed by Michael Bay and I started to get excited. I have been waiting a long time, but finally, we get a fantastic Transformers movie!    Easily the best part of this movie was the relationship between Charlie played by Hailee Steinfeld and Bumblebee. Something I never expected to happen during a Transformers movie was for me to get teary-eyed and not just once, but twice. Once towards the start of the film where Charlie is talking to Bumblebee about her father who passed away and then the last scene with the two of them.  Hailee Steinfeld is fantastic in this movie I think she is amazing in everything she is in, but this to me is her best performance yet. Her character Charlie is extremely likable and you really feel for her. I like the family dynamic that is set up. I like her past she used to be a diver, but she doesn't feel comfortable with that anymore because it was something her father encouraged and now that he is gone it makes her feel depressed. John Cena plays Jack Burns a member of the military I had never seen him act before, but I thought he was terrific.    The action scenes are very exciting and unlike Michael Bay's action, you can actually tell what is happening. Another problem I had with the Michael Bay films was they were always too long not this one it is the perfect length at 1 hour 50 minutes. There is not a boring moment in this film. I have no complaints about it.  5 out of 5 stars for Bumblebee. I hope you enjoyed my review.




AQUAMAN MOVIE REVIEW

Aquaman is directed by James Wan and stars Jason Momoa, Amber Heard, Willem Dafoe, Patrick Wilson, Dolph Lundgren, Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, and Nicole Kidman. The plot of the movie is Arthur Curry learns that he is the heir to the underwater kingdom of Atlantis, and must step forward to lead his people and be a hero to the world.  This for me was a very average film. It isn't horrible there is good stuff in it, but I won't remember it in a few days. I think Jason Momoa is fantastic in this role. He has that heroic intimidating physical presence, but also he has a lot of charm to him. You understand why this character is reluctant to be the true king of Atlantis. Amber Heard is great in this movie her character Mera is so badass she has a lot of great action scenes. The visuals are amazing there is an underwater chase scene about an hour into the movie that is just beautiful to look at.    The rest of the cast I thought did a decent job I didn't really care about any of them, but at the same time, they weren't completely useless. There are some speeches that are given that are just awful. There is very little fun to be had with this movie. The big climactic action sequence at the end I had a blast with, but leading up to it I wasn't that hooked by the story.  3 out of 5 stars for Aquaman. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Thursday, December 20, 2018

MARY POPPINS RETURNS MOVIE REVIEW

Mary Poppins Returns is directed by Rob Marshall and stars Emily Blunt, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Ben Whishaw, Emily Mortimer, Julie Walters, Dick Van Dyke, Angela Lansbury, Colin Firth, and Meryl Streep. The plot of the movie is decades after her original visit, the magical nanny returns to help the Banks siblings and Michael's children through a difficult time in their lives.    Rob Marshall tries his best to recapture the magic of the original film and there are moments when he comes close, but overall I was very disappointed with this film. Emily Blunt was a fantastic choice to take over the role of Mary Poppins I do think that she is missing a softness that Julie Andrews had, but she has some wonderful moments. All three of the child actors who play the Banks children are wonderful and thankfully not annoying. Ben Whishaw is also very good. His song where he sings to his dead wife is really emotional and one of the only songs I liked in the movie because I could understand the lyrics and believe me that is a rarity in this film. Dick van Dyke has very little screen time but in his few minutes he proves that he is a better singer and dancer than anyone in this movie. I also loved the callbacks to the original throughout the film.    As for what I did not like about this movie the animated sequence it goes on for way too long and it didn't look that good. Lin-Manuel Miranda tried his best, but I just saw him playing himself. Meryl Streep's character in the movie I found to be extremely annoying and her song even more so. I didn't care much for the songs and I can't even tell you what the songs are about. What bothered me the most about the movie is how stupid it is. Michael is careless with an important document that has gone missing and it didn't help that I spotted this document immediately as soon as it showed up on screen, but it takes the entire movie for them to find it.  2 out of 5 stars for Mary Poppins Returns. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Tuesday, December 18, 2018

MARY POPPINS MOVIE REVIEW

With the upcoming release of Mary Poppins Returns I decided to go back and watch the original. This is one of my favorite movies of all time. The movie takes place in London sometime in the early twentieth century and follows the Bank's family. Gorge Banks is the father and he has grown very distant from his kids to the point where he is kind of cruel to them at points and insults them. So the kids can be a handful because the nannies that he has hired don't work out. The movie opens up with a nanny quieting because Jane and Michael Banks ran away and now he has to find a new nanny. Just at the perfect time, Mary Poppins arrives played by Julie Andrews who is the nanny the kids have been looking for not so much Mr. Banks. The rest of the movie is pretty much Mary Poppins and the two Banks kids going on many grand adventures.    Watching this movie as an adult you really appreciate the story and the technical achievements. A lot of that does have to do with the characters. Mary Poppins is a weird character to describe. She is mysterious, she can often be very strict, she denies a lot of the crazy stuff that Jane and Michael talk about sometimes in a very commanding and mean-spirited way and yet she never comes across as unlikeable. Julie Andrews is absolutely perfect. There's a reason she won the Academy Award for Best Actress. She is an amazing singer and manages to make me feel weirdly emotional about some of the most simple songs like Feed the Birds. It's about an old woman sitting on the steps of a church who is constantly feeding the birds and somehow that gets an emotional response from me.    Dick Van Dyke plays the character Bert and he is a great character as well. He's basically a poor guy who just hangs around London. He has so many different jobs and yet he is never upset. He always has a great attitude like when his drawings on the sidewalk are ruined because of the rain he just goes off and finds another job.  The songs were written by the Sherman brothers they are true Disney legends and the songs in this movie are iconic. "A Spoonful of Sugar" "Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious" "Jolly Holiday" "Chim Chim Cher-ee" "Step in Time" "Feed the Birds" "Let's go fly a Kite" all these songs are phenomenal, incredibly catchy and they can make you emotional.  The dance sequence with Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke in the chalk paintings goes on for a while, but it's outstanding whether they are dancing together or when Bert is dancing with animated penguins and the only scene that tops it is Step in Time with all the chimney sweeps dancing on the roof.     Watching this movie with an adult perspective is very interesting because when you watch Gorge Banks he is a cruel guy. He just doesn't seem to care about his kids at all. There's one moment where the kids come up with a suggestion for a new nanny and Jane mentions how they are two adorable kids and Mr. Banks says well that is highly debatable.    This is one of the best Disney films ever. The characters are great, the performances are fantastic, the songs are iconic and the story is incredible.  5 out of 5 stars for Mary Poppins. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Saturday, December 15, 2018

MORTAL ENGINES MOVIE REVIEW

Mortal Engines is directed by Christian Rivers and stars Hugo Weaving, Hera Hilmar, Robert Sheehan, Jihae, Ronan Raftery, Patrick Malahide, and Stephen Lang. The plot of the movie is in a post-apocalyptic world where cities ride on wheels and consume each other to survive, two people meet in London and try to stop a conspiracy.    The main reason I wanted to see this movie was because the screenplay was written by Peter Jackson who directed The Lord of the Ring films. The film is beautiful to look at, but it is pretty dull when it comes to everything else. I didn't care about a single character in this movie. They try to go into the backstory of the characters, but all of it feels so derivative of other things.  Mortal Engines feels like the conclusion of a series, but there are no movies that came before this. The film takes itself way too seriously so you can't even have fun watching it. The attempts at humor fall flat and the beautiful visuals are pretty much wasted because you just don't give a shit about anything that is happening.  1 out of 5 stars for Mortal Engines. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Friday, December 14, 2018

SPIDER-MAN: INTO THE SPIDER-VERSE MOVIE REVIEW

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse is directed by Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsey, and Rodney Rothman and stars Shameik Moore, Jake Johnson, Hailee Steinfeld, Mahershala Ali, Brian Tyree Henry, Lily Tomlin, Luna Lauren Velez, John Mulaney, Nicolas Cage, Liev Schreiber, and Kimiko Glenn. The plot of the movie is Miles Morales becomes Spider-Man of his reality and crosses paths with his counterparts from other dimensions to stop a threat to all reality.    When the trailers for this movie came out I thought that the movie was going to be bad. I hated the bizarre look of the animation and the humor just felt forced. The movie is better than I thought it would be, but I didn't think it was great. I did eventually get used to the animation style. The only characters I liked in this movie were Peter Parker voiced by Chris Pine, Gwen Stacy voiced by Hailee Steinfeld and Miles Morales voiced by Shameik Moore. In fact, I really wish the movie was just about the three of them because all of the other characters I found to be annoying. Some of the jokes in this movie are very funny, but other times just like I thought while watching the trailer it felt forced.    One of the most annoying things about the movie is each character that is introduced they have this way of telling their backstory and it just felt more and more repetitive every time they did it.  The film isn't afraid to get serious one of my favorite things about this movie was Miles's story. He has a very difficult relationship with his father who is a cop. He would rather hang out with his Uncle who his father doesn't get along with. He is being forced to go to this fancy school that he doesn't feel comfortable in and I found myself caring about this character. The villain in the movie is Kingpin and he was very underdeveloped and hardly in the movie.  3 out of 5 stars for Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Sunday, November 25, 2018

ROBIN HOOD MOVIE REVIEW

Robin Hood is directed by Otto Bathurst and stars Taron Egerton, Jamie Foxx, Ben Mendelsohn, Eve Hewson, Tim Minchin, and Jamie Dornan. The plot of the movie is a war-hardened crusader and his Moorish commander mount an audacious revolt against the corrupt English crown. This movie was fucking horrible. I wasn't that excited going into it since there are so many versions of the Robin Hood story. I have not been this bothered by complete incompetence since last year's King Arthur: Legend of the Sword. Every person in this movie is not even trying.    Ben Mendelsohn plays the Sheriff of Nottingham and he just yells a lot about how Robin Hood is going to take all of his money. Jamie Foxx is really over-the-top and he provides a lot of unintentional comedy. There is one scene where he is talking to somebody he wants to kill and he takes his hand and grabs the guy's chest really hard and it looked so stupid.  The parts in this movie that are supposed to be funny are not. Friar Tuck pops a lot of jokes in the movie and they are all bad.    Taron Egerton plays the lead I have liked him in Kingsman I know he is a talented actor, but he was miscast here he seems very wooden.  I have seen most of these actors give good performances before which begs the question who told these people to give the most lifeless performance they could. I was bored about 30 minutes into the movie I wanted to stop watching it, but I continued all the way to the end which of course sets up a sequel which hopefully will never happen and if it does I'd be shocked.    For some strange reason, the movie opens with narration and Friar Tuck is talking to us telling us how this isn't the story we thought we knew I thought they would have that make sense at the end they don't. This movie didn't even have exciting action sequences.    This version of Robin Hood is embarrassing. The costumes look like really crappy Halloween costumes, the performances are horrible and the special effects are some of the worst I have seen in my life.  I don't understand how so much money can be thrown at a project and everything ends up being horrible.  0 out of 5 stars for Robin Hood. I hope you enjoyed my review.




INSTANT FAMILY MOVIE REVIEW

Instant Family is directed by Sean Andres and stars Mark Wahlberg, Rose Byrne, Isabela Moner, Margo Martindale, Julie Hagerty, Tig Notaro, and Octavia Spencer. The plot of the movie is a couple finds themselves in over their heads when they foster three children.  This was a movie that I knew nothing about going into it and I ended up loving it.  Mark Wahlberg and Rose Byrne both do a very convincing and endearing job. You get to see the run of emotions that they have as potential parents all of the ups and the downs. It's not always great and it's not always bad and it changes from moment to moment.    Tig  Notaro and Octavia Spencer play the two foster agents. They lead the class and the support group and they work through all of the issues with these potential parents. I loved them together they do such a great job and they play off each other with such perfect timing. They both bring comedy and truth to what they're talking about.  The teenager in this story that is one of the three adopted kids is Lizzy and she is played by Isabela Moner and she does a really great job of playing a teenager who has been bounced around from foster home to foster home. You get to see the heartbreak and the hope that she has.    I love that the story is sincere and convincing without being sugar-coated. It just presents some facts, but it also does it in such an approachable way that everybody can get something out of it and everyone can feel a connection to what the story is saying and how the characters are bringing these to life. We are taken on a journey through this and we see the good and the bad.  Instant Family is way more emotional than I thought it was going to be. It is not just some light comedy.  5 out of 5 stars for Instant Family. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Saturday, November 17, 2018

THE GRINCH MOVIE REVIEW

The Grinch is directed by Scott Mosier and Yarrow Cheney and stars Benedict Cumberbatch, Rashida Jones, Kenan Thompson, and Angela Lansbury. The plot of the movie is a grumpy Grinch plots to ruin Christmas for the village of Whoville.  This version of the Grinch is brought to us by Illumination Entertainment they made the Despicable Me movies and Secret Life of Pets. That is really what you compare this movie too. When I watched the trailer I thought they basically took the Grinch and they turned him into Despicable Me.  The only movie from Illumination that I have liked was the first Despicable Me movie, so I was not looking forward to this.    This Grinch movie I wasn't a fan of it which is baffling to me because it's the story of The Grinch it's a classic Christmas story how do you mess that up? One of the most common complaints I've heard and I actually agree with is that the Grinch in this movie he's not really grumpy enough he's actually kind of soft which is not the Grinch at all.  There are a couple subplots in this film and it is clear the only reason they are there is so the film can be an appropriate length. Cindy-Lou Who in this film she's a mandatory Grinch character, but her story in this film I felt did not need to be in the movie. There's another subplot with the fat reindeer who just annoyed me.    I didn't like the narration either in this movie it is done by Pharrell Williams he even botched some of the original classic lines. The humor in this movie felt forced.   I did like some things about the film the animation was beautiful you're coming from the world of Dr. Seuss it's gonna look weird and contorted give that to Illumination Entertainment it looks great. The music in the film was really well done except for the weird rap version of "You're a mean one Mr. Grinch".  1 out of 5 stars for The Grinch. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Friday, November 16, 2018

FANTASTIC BEASTS: THE CRIMES OF GRINDELWALD MOVIE REVIEW

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald is directed by David Yates and stars Eddie Redmayne, Katherine Waterston, Dan Fogler, Alison Sudol, Ezra Miller, Zoe Kravitz, Callum Turner, Carmen Ejogo, Claudia Kim, Kevin Guthrie, Jude Law, and Johnny Depp. This is the second installment of the Fantastic Beasts series set in J. K. Rowling's Wizarding World featuring the adventures of magizoologist Newt Scamander.    I was not a fan of the first Fantastic Beasts movie, but this trailer gave me hope.  The only scene in this movie I truly enjoyed was the opening where Grindelwald who is being held prisoner in New York is being transferred back to London. It was intense and exciting. The rest of the film I found relentlessly boring.  This movie takes so many characters and so many different subplots and overstuffs the movie with so much happening that it can be difficult to follow.  The characters are again not that interesting in my opinion. People seem like they are not even trying.  The one actor who was good was Jude Law as Dumbledore the movie really did need a lot more of him. He is not in it too much.   Johnny Depp as Grindelwald is fine he's not as over-the-top as he usually is, but it felt like he didn't bring that much to his character. The material he was given there wasn't much to work with. He has none of that snaky slimy evil that Ralph Fiennes had as Voldemort.  The real crime of this film is that it will put people to sleep I have no idea how I managed to stay awake.  The ending I guess is supposed to be shocking that is what I've hard anyway, but I was just glad the movie was finally over. I am dreading having to sit through three more of these movies.  1 out of 5 stars for Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Thursday, November 15, 2018

FANTASTIC BEASTS AND WHERE TO FIND THEM MOVIE REVIEW

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is directed by David Yates and stars Eddie Redmayne, Katherine Waterston, Dan Fogler, Alison Sudol, Ezra Miller, Samantha Morton, Jon Voight, Carmen Ejogo and Colin Farrell. The movie is about the adventures of writer Newt Scamander in New York's secret community of witches and wizards seventy years before Harry Potter reads his book in school.  When I first saw the trailers for this movie I was conflicted. Harry Potter is my favorite movie series of all time, so the idea of going back into the world I knew and loved so much was exciting. At the same time, something about this just reeked of the studio's greed for more money.  The film was generally well-received by both critics and fans, however, I was not a fan. During the films opening hour, I almost fell asleep multiple times. It just wasn't captivating.    There were a few things I did like about the film the set design and costumes are tremendous, the CGI on the creatures is outstanding and Eddie Redmayne does give a good performance. I think this film suffers from having a weak protagonist.  To be clear Eddie Redmayne does his beast, but it is not good enough to save this character. Newt Scamander isn't a strong engaging protagonist.  As the audience, we need information on the protagonist for us to empathize with them. Meaning, we should care about them and understand why they're doing what they're doing in the story. We need to be invested in them and the journey they're about to embark on.  What do we know about Newt Scamander? well, not much. For about the first hour all we know is that he's carrying magical creatures in a suitcase in New York City. We only get slight glimpses into his personality and troubled past through conversation. Like his expulsion from Hogwarts and a strained relationship with Lestrange.    Since we are kept at a distance from Newt he's not engaging. It's harder for us as an audience to care or invest in him. The protagonist's desire or goal should be the driving force of the entire movie pushing everything until the end. Since Newt's character is shrouded in so much secrecy, we don't even know what he wants until about 40 minutes into the movie. It's not a very effective desire either, for the story because Newt never actually pursues his desire and we find out at the end that he could have released it as soon as he landed in New York City.  Then, his goal shifts to finding his suitcase and then to catching the loose animals which shifts again to catching the Obscurial. It's unclear and so it is too difficult for the audience to attach their expectations.    The villain is the antagonistic force keeping the protagonist from his goal, but without a clearly defined goal, we're not even sure who the villain is. Is it the animals or Graves or The Ministry? I don't know, but that rising tension is missing throughout the film. After watching our protagonist struggle throughout the story we expect them to change or grow in some way. If they are at the same point emotionally at the end of the film, where they were at the beginning than what was the point of going on the journey? We just walked in a circle or even worse we didn't move at all.    This film has a very unbalanced tone. The Harry Potter films did an excellent job, of balancing childlike whimsy with darker elements, in each individual movie.  As the series went on the balance shifted, with the growing ages of the children and the growing drama surrounding them. Each moment artfully walked the line befitting the film's tone never straying too far and never seeming out of place. The darker moments were built up to, earned over time.    In Fantastic Beasts, I was shocked by the mishandled tone. In one scene, there are goofy creatures getting into silly situations and in the next, there are children being savagely beaten. This happens time and time again silly animals and then murder. Silly animals and then executions. As opposed to carefully walking the line tonally the creators went for simple shock and awe moments, jumping from one extreme to the next without ever finding a balance. Overall, the film just wasn't as fun and exciting as the Harry Potter series.     The last big issue I have is slow pacing. There is a common error among writers, of mistaking stuff for story. Characters, plot setting, goals, and antagonists all serve a larger story that we're watching. When all the elements are working together they are constantly pushing the story forward building towards the climax. Stuff is the tiny minutia writers can get lost in. The result is cool explosive shiny colorful stuff that doesn't ultimately matter and ends up grinding the story's momentum to a halt.    This is the first screenplay J.K. Rowling has ever written and unfortunately, it shows. The same intricate details that made her Harry Potter novels come to life ended up drowning her screenplay for Fantastic Beasts. This mistake is most noticeable in the scene where Newt and Jacob first arrive at the Goldstein sister's apartment. On a side note, Katherine Waterston who plays Tina is as dull as a rock and Alison Sudol who plays Queenie is an over-the-top cartoon.  The scene where Newt and Jacob both enter Newt's suitcase. The entire scene is 10 minutes long and completely stops what little momentum the story had barely built up to at that point. It's just a scene where J. K. Rowling could set stuff up for later payoffs which results in a 10-minute long scene of stuff not story.    Warner Brothers have announced 4 more Fantastic Beasts movies. I want to like the rest of them, but since this film gave me so little to care about it might be too late.  2 out of 5 stars for Fantastic Beasts and Where to find them. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Wednesday, November 14, 2018

HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS PART 2 MOVIE REVIEW

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 is again directed by David Yates. Something about this film that contrasts very much so with the others is how fast-paced this movie is. Right from the start, you feel like you're just in it. It's instantly going and you better get on this ride or it's gonna leave you behind.  It is one of the shorter movies so that definitely has something to do with it as well, but it also doesn't have to set up anything else. Everything comes to a halt in this movie. Everything ends in this film so there's no need to build up various arcs this movie is where everything explodes. From beginning to end this movie is a non-stop ride of intense drama and action, really heartfelt character moments and all of these things you've been waiting to see finally happen.    We pick up with our three heroes still looking for the remaining Horcruxes, so they can hopefully kill Voldemort. They have to infiltrate the caves and a goblin named Griphook helps them, until he gets what he wants and then betrays them. Here we get a really fun underground cave sequence where we meet the dragon and this thing is so beautiful it's one of my favorite creatures in Harry Potter. They ride this dragon to safety.    Then they meet up with Neville who leads them underground to Hogwarts. It's so nice to be back here. This school wasn't in Part 1 and it feels like you're returning to this place of comfort despite how dark it is and how everyone has lost hope.  Everyone realizes that Harry was right all along and they all get behind him. The faculty and students are all together on this and it feels like you are about to witness something amazing. Later when Snape is interrogating students trying to figure out where Harry Potter is Harry steps out he's done hiding this is the movie where he truly steps into the role of leader.  I love the short battle that McGonagall and Snape have, but what is even better is when she banishing Slytherin to the dungeon.    What is really special about this film compared to the others is how urgent everything feels. There is a level of stakes here that makes everything feel very in the moment. This is when the big attack begins Voldemort and his forces against Hogwarts. This is where everything comes to a head and this is where the film gets even better.  Ron and Hermione are able to destroy one of the Horcruxes with the Basilisk's fang. Voldemort and his forces eventually take down the shield surrounding Hogwarts. Draco and his dumb friends burn down the Room of Requirement.    Snape's death is handled really well. There is a bit of an info dump with this scene where you learn about Snape's past and how he loved Lilly Potter. This is needed though it really tells you a lot about his character and when you go back and watch the movies with this in mind everything feels so much more in focus now.  Harry goes off into the forest to challenge Voldemort alone. We get a beautiful scene involving his parents and Voldemort kills Harry. I love the following scene with Dumbledore and Harry in limbo where Harry learns that he had to die for this to happen.    Harry Potter's body is brought back Hogwarts and Neville makes the most inspiring speech you could possibly imagine.  Harry wakes up and this is where Harry and Voldemort finally have their epic showdown and Voldemort dies he just melts away and turns to ash.  As Harry is walking through Hogwarts and he sees everyone picking themselves up he looks at all these people that he has known for so long you get this amazing sense of euphoria it just feels so right. The ending of this film showing  Harry, Ron, and Hermione grown up with kids of their own sending them off to Hogwarts it could not have ended better.  The Harry Potter movie series started when I was 13 years old and ended when I was 22. I have loved all eight film and it is something I will always look back on fondly.  5 out of 5 stars for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Tuesday, November 13, 2018

HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS PART 1 MOVIE REVIEW

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 1 is again directed by David Yates.  Ever since this book was split into two movies studios just saw a financial strategy. They didn't understand that artistically this was a good choice because this book deserves to be two movies.  This movie opens very fast-paced there's a very creepy introduction to Voldemort and his Death Eaters.  There is a very cool motorcycle scene where everyone disguises themselves as Harry Potter and that whole chase scene is exciting it is also sad because Harry's owl Hedwig is killed.  I also really love the sequence where they disguise themselves as people who work for the Ministry of Magic and they infiltrate that place and Ron gets a little too into his disguise.    The three of them are looking for Horcruxes in order to defeat Voldemort. This film is more solemn than the others because our three main heroes go on a very private journey alone to find these things.  As they are in the woods and one of these Horcruxes does take a toll on them emotionally Ron gets very jealous He has a big argument with Harry and this leads to a separating of our three friends that we are so used to seeing together which makes it even sadder and lonely. This does lead through to one of my favorite scenes which wasn't in the book and that's Harry and Hermione dancing. There's something really sweet about it. It's almost like their last fleeting moment of happiness.    When Harry returns to where he was born and visits the gravestone that scene really got me. That was a really touching moment and the way it is filmed the cinematography the dark lighting it's all really beautiful. That is something that I am still blown away by when it comes to these Harry Potter movies because usually in a series at this point when you get to this many installments you have fatigue, but not with these movies they are all great. They all build upon each other in very interesting and fun ways. They keep the characters fresh and interesting and the filmmakers never seem to sleep through anything everyone is always on their A-game.    Later on in the movie when Harry's in trouble Ron shows up and saves him. He has the sword and they destroy one of the Horcruxes.  Then we get an exposition scene where we learn about three brothers and the Deathly Hallows. This leads to a magnificent chase scene through the woods I loved the way David Yates shoots this sequence it's so breathtaking. Once they are captured we get some suspense about what is going to happen to them until they are saved by Dobby, but as they are disappearing Bellatrix throws a knife killing Dobby for me this is the saddest death in the entire series. Then we get our big cliffhanger with Voldemort taking the elder wand out of Dumbledore's tomb and holding it up to the sky.    Despite taking a book and splitting it in two and what that can sometimes do cinematically for your experience Deathly Hallows Part 1 is a very fun movie a very enjoyable film one that is shot beautifully very well acted with a lot of good emotion and a lot of really fun scenes. It's not as action-packed as the other Harry Potter movies, but these characters and the care that is still being given makes this a very good film.  5 out of 5 stars for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Monday, November 12, 2018

HARRY POTTER AND THE HALF-BLOOD PRINCE MOVIE REVIEW

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince was again directed by David Yates. Dumbledore takes Harry to recruit Horace Slughorn he is someone they really need to teach at this school.  This guy has crucial memories of Tom Riddle now Voldemort and Dumbledore tries to use Harry to get closer to Horace so they can get that information from him. Dumbledore is positive that this memory can help them defeat Voldemort.    Half-Blood Prince is a very subtle movie it's very quiet there isn't much happening it's definitely the most uneventful Harry Potter film that isn't a bad thing though. This film is, in my opinion, the very first adult Harry Potter film. Even though the films have gotten darker as they have gone on this one does feel like it is aimed at adults because there is a lot of inaction, there's a lot of mystery, there's a lot of dialogue, there's a lot of character building and there's barely any magic battles at all. It's a very character-driven movie and that is a big compliment for a movie like this that appeals to a young demographic.    Also, some very important things happen towards the end of this movie for Harry's life that of Dumbledore's death at the hands of Severus Snape. So this movie had to build that relationship between Dumbledore and Harry because Order of the Phoenix didn't really explore it at all and this movie did that so those emotional scenes mean a lot more.  One of my favorite scenes in this movie is towards the end when Harry and Dumbledore go to this cave with this liquid that Dumbledore has to drink that's very poisonous it's a very intense scene it's very thrilling a lot of great action in that scene and it was directed extremely well.    Harry is eventually able to get Horace to tell him what he needs to know by using the memory of his mother. It's a very touching scene it was really heartfelt and he finally figures out what he needs to know. Dumbledore and Harry go searching for Horcruxes devices that are linked to Voldemort's very being and if they can destroy all of them they destroy Voldemort.   The end of this movie is really sad. Draco is a lot worse than he used to be. He's no longer just a bully he's getting really close to Voldemort and he has that evil brewing within him, but he's not sure if he has to act on it yet and Severus steps in and kills Dumbledore, but there is a sense that there is more to that.   With the death of Dumbledore, it feels like hope is lost and Harry knows he has to go out and find the Horcruxes. The very last scene of Harry, Ron, and Hermione talking and seeing the Phoenix fly away was very touching.  5 out of 5 stars for Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Sunday, November 11, 2018

HARRY POTTER AND THE ORDER OF THE PHOENIX MOVIE REVIEW

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is directed by David Yates who would continue to direct the remaining movies. It's very clear as this film opens that it is going to be a different vision than we had previously experienced.  There is something about the way this film opens that felt almost dreamlike even though we were watching events that were happening. A lot of Order of the Phoenix is about dreams and visions and prophecies, but this opening actually captured that feeling. This was also the first time we got to see Dudley with his gang after they pick on Harry for a while Dementors come and Harry has to defend Dudley against this Dementor.  Since Harry used a spell outside school he gets a letter saying that he is expelled from Hogwarts for this. This is just the first hint of what Dolores Umbridge will do.    If you thought the Dursleys and Draco were bad. They are nothing compared to how horrible Umbridge is. In this movie, Dolores Umbridge takes over Hogwarts and she makes all these ridiculous rules. She stops the kids from learning how to defend themselves and she tries to use the Ministry of Magic to make everything at Hogwarts change. Harry Potter is the only person trying to tell everyone that Voldemort is back and no one wants to believe him.    When Harry is facing expulsion from Hogwarts Alastor Moody returns to rescue him and takes him to meet The Order of the Phoenix. A secret group of people who are trying to do some good and Sirius Black is involved with this as well.  Since he used magic outside school Harry is put on trial and Dumbledore defends him excellently, but this is our first encounter with Umbridge who I already mentioned is a total bitch.  Thankfully Harry is cleared of the charges and we get to go to Hogwarts with him.   Pressure is mounting on Harry so much because kids are reading headlines about him, people think perhaps Harry's crazy for saying that Voldemort is back and Cedric Diggory's memory is not being honored properly because people are making up lies about how he died.  Harry tries to be the one to stand up and tell the truth about what happened and once the kids start to believe him, Harry, Ron, and Hermione form a secret society of kids and start training each other to defend themselves against an oncoming war that Harry is sure is coming.    This is great because we finally get to see Harry step into the role of a teacher and it is really inspiring.  We also finally learned a little bit more about Snape's past and it was actually haunting. We got inside Snape's memory when he is trying to train Harry to discipline his mind and Harry uses that spell right back on Snape and learns that his father used to bully Snape.    The kids eventually concoct a plot using a giant that is Hagrid's half-brother to get Umbridge out of this school and eventually the Centaurs come and take her away because the Ministry of Magic is restricting their space as well.  The kids fly to London and a gigantic showdown takes place and this is our first real look at magic war and holy shit it was awesome.  David Yates did such a great job directing these sequences.   Voldemort appears Dumbledore Sirius everyone is out there using magic and it is extremely exciting.  Harry experiences more loss when Bellatrix appears and kills Sirius this scene is always hard to watch. I read that they muted Harry's scream because it was so agonizing they felt it was too intense.  Harry is so consumed with rage that he goes after Bellatrix, but he withstands the temptation from Voldemort to kill her.  Order of the Phoenix managed to be darkly intense, supremely exciting and powerfully heartfelt all at once and that is difficult to do.  5 out of 5 stars for Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Saturday, November 10, 2018

HARRY POTTER AND THE GOBLET OF FIRE MOVIE REVIEW

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was directed by Mike Newell and tells the story of the legendary Triwizard Tournament and the Goblet of Fire that spits out names of people it has chosen to be a champion and despite the fact that Harry Potter is not yet of age to compete his name comes out. Now he has to step up and prove himself while also solving the mystery of why he is even in this tournament while also dealing with an entire school who are looking down on him for the fact that he gets to participate.    This was the first Harry Potter movie to open without the evil vile Dursley Family the Harry Potter series has some awful people in it, one particular person, I'll talk about in my next review, but that family is horrible.  This movie gets to the action really quickly Harry, Hermione and Ron go to watch the world cup of Quidditch in which Death Eaters eventually take over the area destroying everything.  This movie also introduced the character Cedric Diggory he stars off as someone you don't like, but as the movie goes on you do eventually start to like him.  Goblet of Fire explored puberty more Harry, Hermione and Ron are starting to get a little older little cute looks at students is now turning into something more.  There's a dance in this film all of a sudden pressure is mounted on the students about who they are going to ask. This movie wisely plays much of this for comedy it is not taken overly seriously.  There is a great scene where Harry says that he would rather face a dragon again than ask a girl to this dance.    This movie also introduced Alastor Moody played by Brendan Gleeson a new teacher with a deep knowledge of the Dark Arts. He used to train people in Defense Against the Dark Arts and so he wants to teach these kids how to defend themselves. There is a really powerful sequence where he attempts to explain the Unforgivable Curses.   Even though Harry is experiencing some new feelings in a very funny scene he is not very amused by Hagrid's newfound love.   In this film, Harry and Ron get into an argument over a misunderstanding and so it also explores that aspect of friendship as well.  The start of The Triwizard Tournament and watching Harry face off against that dragon was so much fun.  The whole Dance sequence is done well you get the first time where Harry looks at Hermione and perhaps sees a woman and it's done beautifully.  The next challenge involves having to stay underwater for an hour. Harry ingest this plant that allows him to grow gills and we get this really terrific scene where he rescues not just his friend, but the other person's friend as well.  The final challenge in this tournament is a giant maze that entire sequence is extremely tense.  Everything that happens towards the end of this film is extremely impotent for Harry.  We see Lord Voldemort in his new body played brilliantly by Ralph Fiennes. We learn more about Harry's parents and we get our first glimpse of epic showdowns that are to come when Harry faces off very briefly against Voldemort and Cedric does die.  The most powerful thing about this moment is when Harry's parents are by his side trying to help him.    Daniel Radcliffe is really magnificent towards the end of this movie. He gives a fantastic performance and I felt so much for him.  Dumbledore's eulogy for Cedric was very touching. Everything about how this movie ends is a very good hint at what is to come.  5 out of 5 stars for Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Friday, November 9, 2018

HARRY POTTER AND THE PRISONER OF AZKABAN MOVIE REVIEW

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban was directed by Alfonso Cuaron who made a beautiful film. Every shot in this movie is dripping with gorgeous scenery and fantastic lighting.  In Harry Potter's third year he is getting to a point where he is no longer taking shit from people.  His Aunt, Uncle, and Cousin are used to treating him like dirt and in a very entertaining scene he turns an extremely annoying woman into a giant fat balloon and he leaves. which leads to a very fun sequence on The Knight Bus.    This movie's story surrounds the character Sirius Black played by Gary Oldman. He Was in Azkaban Prison and Harry learns that Sirius Black just might be the person the betrayed his parents getting them killed by Voldemort.  The Dementors are invading the world of Hogwarts looking for Sirius Black causing a serious stir among the students and teachers.    Harry gets back on the train to Hogwarts Hermione is there Ron is there. It's cool to see these characters back together again which is something I love in every one of these movies.  This movie instantly lets us know that it is going to be darker than the other two when the Dementors walk onto this train. In this movie, we have Professor Lupin who as you know if you have read the book or watched the movie is actually a werewolf.  Also, something I love in this movie was seeing Hagrid actually get to teach which is when we meet the Hippogriff Buckbeak. Like I mentioned Harry has stopped taking shit from people he directly opposes Draco in this film and that was lovely and even better is later on when Hermione stops taking shit from Draco as well.  The magic of this world is expanded with an awesome scene where Professor Lupin teaches the kids to turn things they are afraid of into something funny. Not only is that a great message for kids it's also a very entertaining scene. There is also this really cool thing called The Marauder's Map that Harry comes across that allows him to see where anyone is in Hogwarts.  There is a very suspenseful scene in a hallway at night where Harry thinks he is about to face off with this person he is looking for that is supposedly dead. If you've seen the movie you know this guy ends up being a rat and if you listen very carefully in the hallway scene you can actually hear a rat scurrying along.    The Special effects in this movie have improved the Quidditch scene has more depth in the rain and all the creatures still hold up very well all these years later.   When we finally meet Sirius Black we learn things about his past that are extremely impotent this is actually someone who wants to help Harry. He even offers for Harry to come live with him.   Lupin is revealed to be a werewolf Sirius Black was in hiding as a dog throughout the entire movie.    I absolutely love the back in time sequence it feels so urgent and the amazing music from John Williams really helps.  Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite film in the series.  5 out of 5 stars for Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Thursday, November 8, 2018

HARRY POTTER AND THE CHAMBER OF SECRETS MOVIE REVIEW

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets was once again directed by Chris Columbus this was the last film that he made in this series.  It is scored once again by the amazing John Williams with his great Harry Potter theme.  In Chamber of Secrets, we already know Hogwarts, the principal characters and Harry's horrible Aunt and Uncle.  So it doesn't have to set any of that up and gets you right into the story.  This film set up a very compelling mystery what is the Chamber of Secrets. Kids at Hogwarts are being petrified. Cryptic messages written in blood are found on the walls.    This film also introduces as to the character Dobby when you first see him you think he is just going to be the comic relief, but he becomes a character that you feel bad for once you see what is going on behind the scenes with Draco's father who is somehow even worse than his son.  Along with the mystery involving the Chamber of Secrets we also learn a little more about Harry Potter he can speak in Parseltongue he can talk to snakes.  That sets up more compelling things to make us curious about this character.  One of my favorite parts of this movie is the Dueling Club scene when Harry and Draco face off in a wand battle.   This movie is a bit darker and slightly scarier than the first. With Harry and Ron going into the forest. Also once we get to the big finale in which Harry finds out that Tom Riddle is not a very good person as well as his battle with the Basilisk.   Throughout this entire film, these three kids are just so great together they bring a giant smile to your face. I love seeing the three of them grow and mature and that is a rare thing in films to have this many movies in which you can watch these characters grow up in front of you.  5 out of 5 stars for Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Wednesday, November 7, 2018

HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER'S STONE MOVIE REVIEW

With Fantastic Beast: The Crimes of Grindelwald coming out soon now is the perfect time for me to review all the Harry Potter movies plus Fantastic Beast and Where to Find Them. The Harry Potter book series had a big impact on people and it was inevitable that they would become movies.  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's stone was directed by Chris Columbus and he did a wonderful job. The score was composed beautifully by John Williams.  They cast Daniel Radcliffe as Harry Potter.  Having seen all the movies we know what an excellent choice that was, but even in Sorcerer's Stone he gave a really good performance. Rupert Grint as Ron Weasley Emma Watson as Hermione Granger these three characters and these three actors are one of the biggest reasons these films were so successful.  In Sorcerer's Stone, we got to see these three characters come together and it's really a joy to see every time I rewatch this film.    They did such a great job casting this entire film especially Alan Rickman as Professor Snape. You get this feeling of dark slimy intensity he pulled that part off so well.  As soon as you meet the character Draco Malfoy played by Tom Felton you realize how much of an ass he is you just want to slap him.  Hogwarts it made me want to be a wizard. It seemed like the greatest school you could go to learning all these spells and playing Quidditch.   The film sets up this world extremely well and gets you excited to see more.  My favorite parts of this movie are the sequences that are just touching darkness that feel like they are hinting at the future, for example, the forbidden forest scene and all the stuff at the end where they are trying to get the Sorcerer's Stone.    This is a heartwarming fantasy film that families can enjoy.  5 out of 5 stars for Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Friday, November 2, 2018

THE NUTCRACKER AND THE FOUR REALMS MOVIE REVIEW

The Nutcracker and the Four Realms is directed by Lasse Hallstrom and stars Keira Knightley, Mackenzie Foy, Eugenio Derbez, Matthew Macfadyen, Richard E. Grant, Misty Copeland, Helen Mirren, and Morgan Freeman. The plot of the movie is a young girl is transported into a magical world of gingerbread soldiers and an army of mice.   I had no interest in seeing this the trailers for this looked bad.  This movie was incredibly boring and it is easily my least favorite film of the year. The acting is very bad most of the actors don't look like they want to be there. Keira Knightly plays The Sugar plumb fairy she speaks with this extremely irritating high-pitched voice. It is the most annoying performance of the year.  The guy who plays The Nutcracker does not stand out at all I completely forgot he was The Nutcracker until the very end of the movie.   I don't know who this movie is targeted to it is really goofy in parts, so I thought it is obviously meant for kids than in other parts I fell it would be too scary for kids.  The Cinematography is so colorful it looked like a unicorn threw up a rainbow.  0 out of 5 stars for The Nutcracker and the Four Realms. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Sunday, October 21, 2018

HALLOWEEN (2018) MOVIE REVIEW

Halloween is directed by David Gordon Green and stars Jamie Lee Curtis, Judy Greer, Andi Matichak, Will Patton, Virginia Gardner, and Nick Castle. This film takes place 40 years after the original and completely disregards every single movie after that. The plot of the movie is Laurie Strode comes to her final confrontation with Michael Myers, the masked figure who has haunted her since she narrowly escaped his killing spree on Halloween night four decades ago.    I thought that this movie was boring. The acting is nothing special, but it's decent I would say the best performance was from Jamie Lee Curtis you can tell that she is traumatized by the events that happened.  Judy Greer plays Laurie's daughter and it felt like she was just there nothing about the character is interesting.  Also, there is Laurie's granddaughter played by Andi Matichak she was decent it this film at times it looked like she cared about being there, but didn't at others.    This film is not scary Micheal Myers is still not frightening at all. The movie is filled with lame jump scares. A lot of this movie just feels like it is lacking energy.  1 out of 5 stars for Halloween. I hope you enjoyed my review.




HALLOWEEN (1978) MOVIE REVIEW

Halloween is directed by John Carpenter and stars Donald Pleasence, Jamie Lee Curtis, P. J. Soles, and Nancy Loomis. The plot of the movie is fifteen years after murdering his sister on Halloween night in 1963, Michael Myers escapes from a mental hospital and returns to the small town of Haddonfield to kill again.    This is one of those movies that are extremely popular and I just don't get why. The only thing I like about this film is the music especially the opening theme. The acting I thought was not that great.  The teenagers in this film are annoying as hell. The only character that is not annoying is Laurie played by Jamie Lee Curtis, her problem is she was way too boring.  Every time Michael Myers would kill one of the characters it was exciting because that meant the movie was closer to being over.  As for Micheal Myers, I did not think he was scary at all.  1 out of 5 stars for Halloween. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Tuesday, October 16, 2018

GOOSEBUMPS 2: HAUNTED HALLOWEEN MOVIE REVIEW

Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween is directed by Ari Sandel and stars Wendi McLendon-Covey, Madison Iseman, Jeremy Ray Taylor, Caleel Harris, Chris Parnell, and Ken Jeong. The plot of the movie is two young friends find a magic book that brings a ventriloquist's dummy to life.  I enjoyed the first movie, so I was excited to see what they would do with the sequel.  I ended up being extremely disappointed.  This film has a smaller budget than the first movie had and you can easily tell that a lot of the special effects look fake. A lot of the original cast couldn't return due to other projects. It seemed like SONY decided to just make a completely different movie and rush it into theaters.    A lot of the Goosebumps books had a different set of characters, but the difference in this movie is that the new characters are not interesting.  The young actors in the film did a decent job.  The plot, once it is revealed what Slappy wants to do, is laughably stupid.  While the first film felt fast-paced this one even though it's only 90 minutes felt incredibly slow.  It's always annoying when studios think that they do not need to put effort into making kids films because they just think that kids will enjoy anything that is targeted at them.  The humor in the film is horrendous for example there is a scene early on with the mother and kids at a grocery store and the cashier is clearly trying to flirt with the mother and every time they made a joke it was so embarrassing.    Some stuff takes place in the final act which helps the film not be completely awful. I just wish there was more of that in the rest of the film and that there was more effort put into this.  2 out of 5 stars for Goosebumps 2: Hunted Halloween. I hope you enjoyed my review.



GOOSEBUMPS MOVIE REVIEW

Goosebumps is directed by Rob Letterman and stars Jack Black, Dylan Minnette, Odeya Rush, Amy Ryan, Ryan Lee, and Jillian Bell. The plot of the movie is a teenager teams up with the daughter of young adult horror author R. L. Stine after the writer's imaginary demons are set free on the town of Madison, Delaware.  As a kid, the Goosebumps books were one of my favorite things to read and when they made the TV series I enjoyed that as well.    I had a lot of fun watching this movie. This is a fast-paced movie. It feels like it flows very fast. There is never a dull moment in this movie. It is a very fun scary movie that families can enjoy. It's a movie that kids can enjoy and hopefully get into reading the books and the adults aren't going to be bored because there are plenty of fun sequences to keep you interested in it.    I did enjoy the acting in the film the main character Zach played by Dylan Minnette does a great job as does the girl who plays the daughter of R. L. Stine and I liked watching their relationship develop as the film went on.  I really enjoyed Jack Black as R. L. Stine. I think he added a lot to the character. He was cold and dark but funny in just the right ways.  My only negative with the film is that some of the CGI on the monsters looks bad.  4 out of 5 stars for Goosebumps. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Saturday, October 13, 2018

FIRST MAN MOVIE REVIEW

First Man is directed by Damien Chazelle and star Ryan Gosling, Claire Foy, Jason Clark Corey Stoll, and Kyle Chandler.  The movie is a look at the life of the astronaut, Neil Armstrong, and the legendary space mission that led him to become the first man to walk on the Moon on July 20, 1969.    My fear going into this movie was that it was going to be more about the mission than the life of Neil Armstrong and fortunately this movie definitely more about the man.  Damien Chazelle definitely chose the right actor to play this role. Ryan Gosling gives one of the best performances I have seen from him. He never tries to steal the spotlight and gives the other actor plenty of opportunities to play off of him.  The performance is emotionally explosive at certain times, but not overly so since Neil Armstrong didn't like to show that side of himself to people.    The rest of the cast is terrific as well Clarie Foy is fantastic as Neil's wife in the film I loved the scenes with her and Ryan Gosling they have a great dynamic together. She was supportive, but also very caring and concerning.   Damien Chazelle is an extremely talented director and I love his creative choices thought this film. This is a very well made movie. The sound design is incredible I felt like I was in the spacecraft. He knows when to use suspense and tension.  Even though we know the outcome I was still on the edge of my set and I wasn't expecting that.  Visually the movie is beautiful one of the best-looking films I have seen all year.  The music in the film is also great especially when they are about to land on the moon.  It's hard to take a story that we know the outcome too and make it feel like something we haven't seen.  I found no flaws with this movie. I enjoyed every minute of it and it is one of my favorite movies of the year.  5 out of 5 stars for First Man. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Tuesday, October 9, 2018

A STAR IS BORN MOVIE REVIEW

A Star is Born is directed by Bradley Cooper and stars Bradley Cooper, Lady Gaga, Andrew Dice Clay, Dave Chappelle, and Sam Elliott. The plot of the movie is a musician helps a young singer and actress find fame, even as age and alcoholism send his own career into a downward spiral. I had not seen any of the previous versions of this, so I had no idea what to expect.   I thought that this movie was okay.  Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga have amazing chemistry together and their scenes together are the most enjoyable parts of this movie.  I loved the music in this film both Cooper and Gaga are terrific singers.  The way Bradley Cooper shoots the concert scenes makes you feel like you are also on stage.    As for the supporting cast, I thought they did great, but I was not as into the supporting characters as I was the two main characters. The movie is also way too long and it moves at a very slow pace which made it seem even longer.  3 out of 5 stars for A Star is Born. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Monday, October 8, 2018

VENOM MOVIE REVIEW

Venom is directed by Ruben Fleischer and stars Tom Hardy, Michelle Williams, Riz Ahmed, Scott Haze and Reid Scott. The plot of the movie is when Eddie Brock acquires the powers of a symbiote, he will have to release his alter-ego "Venom" to save his life.    I was not looking forward to seeing this movie the trailers made it look boring and that is exactly what this movie was. When Tom Hardy is on screen the movie is watchable it's still not great, but he is the best part of this movie.  The CG was horrendous at times it looked like CG from a movie that would have been made 15 years ago.    The acting across the board is really cheesy even Tom Hardy had some terrible moments. There were parts of the movie where I was laughing when I shouldn't have been. The interaction between Eddie Brock and Venom was okay for the most part, but there were some moments that were embarrassingly bad.  Most people when they think of Venom also think of Spider-Man. Spider-Man is not in this movie.  The post-credit scene does set up a sequel and despite hating this one I think the sequel has the potential to be a lot better.  1 out of 5 stars for Venom. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Thursday, October 4, 2018

THE HOUSE WITH A CLOCK IN ITS WALLS MOVIE REVIEW

The House with a Clock in Its Walls is directed by Eli Roth and stars Jack Black, Cate Blanchett, Owen Vaccaro, Renee Elise Goldsberry, Sunny Sujiic and Kyle MacLachlan. The plot of the movie is a young orphan named Lewis Barnavelt aids his magical uncle in locating a clock with the power to bring about the end of the world.    The trailers for this movie I thought didn't look very good. I thought it was going to be a movie that took itself way too seriously and there are parts of the movie where it does that, but overall I thought this was a fun movie.  The cast, for the most part, is great Jack Black is always so energetic and you can tell he is having a lot of fun playing this character. It's great to see Cate Blanchett in a role we normally don't see her in and she works well with Jack Black.  Kyle MacLachlan plays the villain of the film and I felt he was the one member of the cast that was taking this movie way too seriously and it took me out of the movie a bit. Owen Vaccaro plays the young boy Lewis and he definitely overacts a little too much and there is a scene where he has to cry and that becomes laughably bad, but for the most part, he did an okay job.    The special effects in this film are really impressive. The production design and the set design are wonderful. This is a movie I think families are really going to enjoy it has enough stuff for both kids and adults. A lot of the humor I felt worked, but then you have this dumb poop joke that the movie does three times and it wasn't funny the first time.  The story is engaging., I appreciate that they try and flesh out Jack Black and Cate Blanchett's characters I think they are given really interesting backstories to get you invested in those two characters.  3 out of 5 stars for The House With a Clock in Its Walls. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Wednesday, October 3, 2018

SMALLFOOT MOVIE REVIEW

Smallfoot is directed by Karey Kirkpatrick and stars Channing Tatum, James Corden, Zendaya, Common, LeBron James, Danny DeVito, Gina Rodrigues, Yara Shahidi, Ely Henry, and Jimmy Tatro. The plot of the movie is a Yeti is convinced that the elusive creatures known as "humans" really do exist.  I did not enjoy this movie at all. The animation in this movie looked awful compared to other recent animated movies. The message of acceptance has been used so many times I am sick of it. The Voice cast seems like they are just doing this to get a paycheck.    Nothing exciting happens in the movie. It's really just acceptance and ignorance. I knew exactly how the movie was going to play out.  The music in the film is annoying and I felt did not fit with the rest of the movie. The humor in the film was also bad I did not laugh once.  0 out of 5 stars for Smallfoot. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Tuesday, October 2, 2018

EIGHTH GRADE MOVIE REVIEW

Eighth Grade is directed by Bo Burnham and stars Elsie Fisher, Josh Hamilton, Emily Robinson, Jake Ryan, and Fred Hechinger. The plot of the movie is an introverted teenage girl tries to survive the last week of eighth-grade year before leaving to start high school.    I was excited to finally get a chance to see this since this is one of the best-reviewed movies of the year. Similar to last year's Lady Bird I have no idea why this movie has nothing special about it and it is painful to sit through.  The one positive thing about the film is Elsie Fisher who plays the main character, Kayla. She did a fantastic job playing this shy and awkward character.  Everything else about this movie is awful.  The writing is so bad I almost couldn't finish the film if you hate millennial slang as much as I do then don't even bother watching this. Also, the characters almost always have their phones in their hands which I also hate.   There is a scene early in the movie where the main character is on her phone and her dad is trying to talk to her and every time he does she acts like a complete bitch.  Any attempts at humor are embarrassing.  1 out of 5 stars for Eighth Grade. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Saturday, September 22, 2018

A SIMPLE FAVOR MOVIE REVIEW

A Simple Favor is directed by Paul Feig and stars Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively, Henry Golding, and Andrew Rannells. The plot of the movie is a woman seeks to uncover the truth behind the disappearance of her best friend.  I had no idea what to expect from this movie. I only saw one trailer and it didn't look that good.  This movie for me is one of the biggest surprises of the year. What I really enjoyed about this movie is that it knows how ridiculous it is and embraces it. It wants to be a sexy murder mystery and I'm glad it didn't try and take itself too seriously. Everyone involved knows what kind of movie they are making and I think that is why it works.    Everyone in the cast does a fantastic job. I think Anna Kendrick and Blake Lively have amazing chemistry together. Blake Lively really nails that elegance and badass mystery that her character evokes any time she is on screen. She definitely carries this weight of mystery about her of someone who is holding back a lot of information and I loved the way Lively was able to delve into that aspect of that character.  Anna Kendrick is great as well she can definitely play that innocent type of character very well, but she can also play unhinged very well which I was surprised by you don't see that from her. Henry Golding was terrific and his character has a lot of layers to him.    There are some twists in the movie that are predictable, but others are not quite the twist you thought it might be.  4 out of 5 stars for A Simple Favor. I hope you enjoyed my review.



Saturday, September 15, 2018

PEPPERMINT MOVIE REVIEW

Peppermint is directed by Pierre Morel and stars Jennifer Garner, John Ortiz, John Gallagher Jr., Juan Pablo Raba, and Tyson Ritter. The plot of the movie is five years after her husband and daughter are killed in a senseless act of violence, a woman comes back from self-imposed exile to seek revenge against those responsible and the system that let them go free.    Jennifer Garner's performance in the film is excellent. I cared about her in the first act when you see her go through these terrible things and then she is not given justice through the system since a lot of people are paid off by this gang lord. She is believable in the action scenes and brings a lot to them.  The Movie that she is in however is not that enjoyable.      In the first act of the movie we see various people do her wrong, but what the film doesn't understand is these are the people we want to see her get revenge on. The film makes the strange choice to gloss over a lot of the greatest sequences by just having someone say a line or two.  A man comes to her house and tries to buy her off. The resolution to that is having some unimportant character say something about it in another scene.  The screenplay shuffles events around so much so when she does kill someone you forget what role that person had in the killing of her family.    The action scenes are not that captivating. They are not awful they just seem like a lot of scenes that you have seen in other action movies. The title of this movie is very irrelevant Peppermint is not the lead character's nickname or anything it's actually the last flavor of ice cream her daughter had before she is murdered. It is never brought up after that.  1 out of 5 stars for Peppermint. I hope you enjoyed my review.




THE PREDATOR MOVIE REVIEW

The Predator is directed by Shane Black and stars Boyd Holbrook, Trevante Rhodes, Jacob Tremblay, Keegan-Michael Key, Olivia Munn, Thomas Jane, Alfie Allen, and Sterling K. Brown. The plot of the movie is when a young boy accidentally triggers the universe's most lethal hunters' return to earth, only a ragtag crew of ex-soldiers and a disgruntled science teacher can prevent the end of the human race.    I have not liked a single film in this series, so I had no expectations going into this movie.  This movie has only one suspenseful scene in it.  Olivia Munn's character has to go through this decontamination process while a predator is getting closer to her. That was the only suspenseful moment for most of the film it's just a lot of stupid jokes.  It is really hard to get attached to any of the characters and care if they survive. They are never afraid they are just constantly joking around.    The movie does have some good things about it. This is the best the Predator has ever looked. The actors do work well together and once in a while, someone will say something funny. The action is decent.  It feels like this film just has a bunch of scenes that were thrown together and most of them don't make sense.  1 out of 5 stars for The Predator. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Thursday, September 13, 2018

PREDATORS MOVIE REVIEW

Predators is directed by Nimrod Antal and stars Adrien Brody, Topher Grace, Alice Braga, Walton Goggins, and Laurence Fishburne. The plot of the movie is a group of elite warriors parachute into an unfamiliar jungle and are hunted by members of a merciless alien race.  I was not looking forward to watching this movie and I did end up liking it better than Predator 2, but not by much.  With this one being set in a jungle again it felt too repetitive of the first movie.  As far as characters go I fell the same way. I didn't care about any of them.   The look of the Predator in the last two movies was terrible and it's a little better this time, but it is still not scary or intimidating at all.  1 out of 5 stars for Predators. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Wednesday, September 12, 2018

PREDATOR 2 MOVIE REVIEW

Predator 2 is directed by Stephen Hopkins and stars Danny Glover, Gary Busey, Ruben Blades, Maria Conchita Alonso, Bill Paxton, and Robert Davi. The plot of the movie is amidst a territorial gang war in 1997, a sophisticated alien hunter stalks the citizens of Los Angeles and the only man between him and his prey is veteran L.A.P.D. officer Lieutenant Mike Harrigan.    This movie does not work well at all. I think the basic idea of having this one be like a cop drama is interesting, but the way it is executed is really bad.  It comes off as the most generic, bland and cliche cop movie besides the fact that the predator is in it.  Danny Glover's character is not likable at all and no one else is either.  The special effects look even more silly than they did in the first movie.  0 out of 5 stars for Predator 2. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Tuesday, September 11, 2018

PREDATOR MOVIE REVIEW

Predator is directed by John McTiernan and stars Arnold Schwarzenegger and Carl Weathers. The plot of the movie is a team of commandos on a mission in a Central American jungle find themselves hunted by an extra-terrestrial warrior.   I had never seen this movie before and with the new one coming out soon I thought I should watch it  I ended up being very disappointed.  Arnold Schwarzenegger is wonderful in this movie and I did enjoy watching his character. The supporting cast I thought also did a fantastic job my problem is that I did like any of their characters.    The action scenes were nothing special and since I didn't care about most of the characters. I was just sitting there bored most of the time. I really just wanted the Predator to kill them all so the movie would be over.  Some of the special effects are complete garbage, in particular, the Predator's vision the heat vision effect.  The design of the Predator itself I think is silly and I laughed every time they showed it. Also, the way they decided to do the Predator's voice just adds to the silliness of the whole thing.   2 out of 5 stars for Predator. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Friday, September 7, 2018

THE NUN MOVIE REVIEW

The Nun is directed by Corin Hardy and stars Demian Bichir, Taissa Farmiga, and Jonas Bloquet. The plot of the movie is a priest with a hunted past and a novice on the threshold of her final vows are sent by the Vatican to investigate the death of a young nun in Romania and confront a malevolent force in the form of a demonic nun.    This movie is the fifth installment in The Conjuring Universe before this I had only seen one of those movies, so I was worried I wouldn't know what the hell was going on.  Luckily you can go into this without knowing anything because it is a prequel.  The one good thing I can say about this film is that the actors do a decent job with what they are given. No one in this movie is awful, but at the same time, they could have been a lot better.   I found this film to be very unappealing visually I don't think that there is an interesting shot in this entire film. The whole movie looks the exact same with hardly any contrast distinguishing the scenes from one another.    All of the sets are very dark this is a very poorly lit film. They are all drenched in this very thick heavy fog. This movie looks like it was shot at a local haunted house park for Halloween. This film is also littered with poorly written dialogue. Often I found myself laughing when I'm not supposed to be.  Easily the worst offense of all is that every single scare in this movie is so unacceptably predictable. There is not a single scare in this movie that I couldn't see coming and it's because they broadcast every scare with practically neon lights alerting you. The music gets really quiet and when it's just silent enough something pops out. I have seen that done countless times in horror movies.  The Nun is one of the laziest horror movies I have ever seen.  1 out of 5 stars for The Nun. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Thursday, September 6, 2018

SEARCHING MOVIE REVIEW

Searching is directed by Aneesh Chaganty and stars John Cho and Debra Messing. The plot of the movie is after his 16-year-old daughter goes missing, a desperate father breaks into her laptop to look for clues to find her. I heard a lot of good things about this movie, but the one thing I was worried about was the way the story was being told. It is all told from the unique perspective of the daughter's laptop and I thought that I would get tired of that after a while.    This is one of the biggest surprises of the year for me. This idea has been used as a gimmick in a lot of films, but it was done extremely well it was utilized properly for this film. It put you into the situation with this character.  I love character pieces especially character pieces that revolve around a thrilling story like this.  I felt like I was in this story with John Cho. I was worried with him, paranoid with him and every emotion he felt in this movie I felt with him because I felt a connection with this character.    I was invested in this movie from start to finish I really wanted to know where the story was going and how it all paid off. I loved everything about it. John Cho was fantastic. His character is extremely likable and you want him to succeed and find his daughter. Debra Messing gives a fantastic performance and there is so much more to her character than I thought there was going to be. Michelle La plays Margot the girl who goes missing she doesn't get a lot of screen time, but in the time she does have I felt like I really got to know her and wanted her to be found in the end.    This movie a fantastic Thriller it is very suspenseful and it is one of my favorite movies of the year.  5 out of 5 stars for Searching. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Monday, August 20, 2018

CRAZY RICH ASIANS MOVIE REVIEW

Crazy Rich Asians is directed by Jon M. Chu and star Constance Wu, Henry Golding, Gemma Chan, Awkwafina, Nico Santos, Lisa Lu, Ken Jeong, and Michelle Yeoh. This contemporary romantic comedy, based on a global bestseller, follows native New Yorker Rachel Chu to Singapore to meet her boyfriend's family.  This film isn't amazing and it's not perfect, but I did have a good time watching it and laughed a lot.  This cast is extremely talented Awkwafina is hilarious in this movie. Her humor is sprinkled throughout the film and she adds a nice amount of levity to the film.  Constance Wu I thought was fantastic. Michelle Yeoh is also really good as the boyfriend's mother she's incredibly intimidating. She's the type of person you need to impress instantly and you can tell quickly if she hates you or not. Unforturently while I found Michelle Yeoh to be amazing in the role the character was just too unpleasant for me and there is nothing redeeming about her.    The film starts and I was enjoying it, but the film really picks up once everyone gets to Singapore and the conflict between Rachel and the mother starts. The first half does take its time and it does feel like every other romantic comedy.  I would love to see a much better film with a cast like this, but the movie is entertaining it's just not going to be one of my favorites of the year.  3 out of 5 stars for Crazy Rich Asians. I hope you enjoyed my review.




Saturday, August 18, 2018

MILE 22 MOVIE REVIEW

Mile 22 is directed by Peter Berg and stars Mark Wahlberg, John Malkovich, Lauren Cohan, Iko Uwais, and Ronda Rousey. The plot of the movie is an elite American intelligence officer, aided by a top-secret tactical command unit, tries to smuggle a mysterious police officer with sensitive information out of the country.  I really hated this movie and I was not expecting that because Mark Wahlberg and director Peter Berg have worked together a few times before and I have loved the films they made. In the first few minutes, I knew I was in for something very rocky because we are starting off and we see this team on a mission. They have a plan to seek into a house run by the Russian mob I thought that could lead to some amazing action. As soon as the action sequences start to kick in that is when I knew oh shit we're in trouble. It's a lot of quick cuts to the point where you can't see a fucking thing that is happening.    During the opening credits, we see a montage where they describe Mark Wahlberg's character, James Silva. They talk about how he is gifted and how he wasn't like the other kids and it is all done in this opening montage with ADR looped over it. That is not character development that is the studio force-feeding information to you.  Mark Wahlberg is awful in this movie. His character is so unlikeable he does nothing but whines and complains. They try to explain because he is so gifted that's why he is so angry. There are a few times when people call him out for it, but the character never changes.    Lauren Cohan has an interesting story where she is a divorced mom she's trying to reconnect with her child, but because she is on multiple missions with this group she can't be there. On paper, that story doesn't seem so bad, but the way it's presented in this film it's stupid.  There are a few action scenes where you can tell what is happening, but for the most part, it's not even possible.    It also doesn't help that the story is just this guy has some sensitive information about the country and now we have action sequences to do. So the characters are terrible, the acting sucks and the story is almost non-existent.  0 out of 5 stars for Mile 22 I hope you enjoyed my review.



Sunday, August 12, 2018

SLENDER MAN MOVIE REVIEW

Slender Man is directed by Sylvain White and stars Joey King, Julia Goldani Telles, Jaz Sinclair, Annalise Basso, and Javier Botet. The plot of the movie is in a small town in Massachusetts, a group of friends fascinated by the internet lore of the Slender Man, attempt to prove that he doesn't actually exist until one of them mysteriously goes missing.    This movie is complete garbage.  The four main characters are mind-numbingly stupid and the acting is just as horrendous.  Once one of the girls goes missing and another one of the girls played by Joey King starts acting crazy and losing her mind a bit her acting was so over the top I actually started to get a headache.  Julia Goldani Telles is the lead character in this film. They have one minor opening scene with her that sets up her character sort of it's the lamest lead character setup I have ever seen. It's just her and her parents and sister at a dinner table. They talk about how she is going to go meet up with her friends and then they joke about her being pregnant and dropping out of school and that's it there is your lead character.    Since Julia Goldani Telles is the lead character named Hallie you'd think that there would be more to the character, but no she's just your typical teenage girl in a horror film.  There is something with Joey King's character Wren where she walks into her friend Katie's house and sneaks by her passed out drunk and Joey king looks at Katie's dad for a bit. They cut back to him on the couch sleeping than they cut back to her staring in a they are connected kind of way.  I was thinking okay did they just set up that Wren has some sort of connection to Katie's father like he's drunk all the time so maybe there are some inappropriate things going on and maybe Slender Man tortures her with this information. No, it's just there so they can show the dad passed out again.    When they get on the Slender Man forums I was thinking are they going to start referencing how irrelevant Slender Man is and how dumb a lot of this stuff is about him, but no they take it seriously. When they watch this video or "website Video" as the movie calls it I was expecting them to make fun of it, but they treat it seriously.  When the video finishes one of the girls says not scary at all, but her voice is shaking clearly in fear cliche shit like that.    This movie is not scary at all. It's just a bunch of loud noises.  0 out of 5 stars for Slender Man I hope you enjoyed my review.




Saturday, August 11, 2018

THE MEG MOVIE REVIEW

The Meg is directed by John Turteltaub and stars Jason Statham, Li Bingbing, Rainn Wilson, Ruby Rose, Winston Chao, and Cliff Curtis. The plot of the movie is after escaping an attack by what he claims was a 70-foot shark, Jonas Taylor must confront his fears to save those trapped in a sunken submersible.  Going into this movie I was just hoping for a dumb fun movie. The only character in this movie that I cared about at all was the main character Jonas Taylor played by Jason Statham. Everyone else just seemed like they were there because they need more characters and they are all forgettable.    There are some great action scenes in this film. The Megalodon itself does look awesome. Some of the special effects look pretty bad and some of it looks a little overly CG, but for the most part, I think they did a really good job bringing this creature to life.  When the movie leans into just being over-the-top and dumb that's when it is a lot of fun to watch.   However, the movie does have some big flaws.  There is far too much buildup to when you first see the Megalodon and they use that time trying to develop the characters and besides the main character, I didn't care about any of these people. Also, there are times when this movie takes itself way to seriously and that happened a lot and prevented me from enjoying this movie.  2 out of 5 stars for The Meg. I hope you enjoyed my review.